Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Why does this PASM code NOT work — Parallax Forums

Why does this PASM code NOT work

SiriSiri Posts: 220
edited 2008-10-13 03:27 in Propeller 1
I am new to PASM and to assembly as a whole.

I am using a Propeller Proto Board and to it I have connected a ADC0831 to P0,P1 and P2 to ADC

Prop: PIN 0
> ADC pin 1 - chip select
PIN 1
> ADC pin 6 - Data Out
PIN 2
> ADC pin 7 - Clock

I also have pressure sensor connected to ADC - pin 2 - Vin and pin 3 - Gnd.V ref is connected to 5Vdc so is Vcc.

This set up works well with SPIN code flawlessly. (So hardware does work with no issues).I did this to make sure
that there is no hardware issues to deal with and the only troble shooting is with PASM code.

Here is the PASM code that does not work.

The display works as "Inapitarory pressure : 228" is displayed on the monitor.The decimal values do not get
updated when the pressure changes are made.(This works with SPIN Code).

So please help me to fix this and please explain in detail as much as possible - this will help me to understand
where I went wrong.

The ADC is connected to propeller PINS :

ADC_CS   = 0           ' CS Pin   connected to  Propeller  P0
                                           ADC_Data = 1           ' Data Pin connected to  Propeller  P1
                                           ADC_CLK  = 2           'Clock Pin connected to  Propeller  P2

using a ADC0831 - chip

}
con
  _clkmode = xtal1 + pll16x '
  _xinfreq = 5_000_000 '

VAR    long    Data
       Byte    Exp
       long DisplayStack[noparse][[/noparse]80]

obj
   Text    : "VGA_Text"

PUB start

text.start(16)
    cognew(DisplayText,@DisplayStack) 
    cognew(@entry,@Data)

PUB DisplayText
     text.out($0D)
     text.str(string("Inspiratory pressure:"))
  repeat    
     Exp :=(Data-115)/4
     text.str(string($A,21,$B,1))
     text.str(string(" "))
     text.dec(Exp) 

DAT
entry         org        0