Shop Learn
New 4.3" touchscreen LCD for Propeller: "used" screens almost free w/purchase. - Page 20 — Parallax Forums

New 4.3" touchscreen LCD for Propeller: "used" screens almost free w/purchase.

11820222324

Comments

  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,248
    edited 2010-02-03 15:00
    Thanks mctrivia! It went from not working to working and I'm not sure why. Probably my sloppy breadboarding—the Prop resets if I nudge the wrong thing.

    Anyhow, I'm very happy with the display and breakout board!
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-03 17:19
    mpark: Glad you got it working! Now, we just need to get a text editor and Sphinx working on it... [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,248
    edited 2010-02-04 19:14
    Riiiight.

    Say, what's the deal on reusing your LCD and i2c drivers? It looks like they're derived from MIT-licensed code, but there's no license.

    Edit: Never mind, I missed the earlier answer to this question.

    Post Edited (mpark) : 2/4/2010 7:29:27 PM GMT
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-04 19:23
    The LCD driver is not derived from MIT code, but the I2C one probably is (but that doesn't affect my rights to my additions to that code).
    In any case, my only concern would be people selling a competing product and advertising my code for it, without an arrangement.
    If you're not selling anything using my code, I probably don't care, just ask that my copyright notice stays with the code...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-04 19:43
    Actually, I see that the regular VGA drivers (that some of my drivers are based on) are MIT now...

    I think this actually strengthens my rights though...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-04 19:48
    On the other hand though, my investment in these particular drivers is fairly low... I think people, such as yourself, could make their own versions of these codes (maybe even better versions) fairly easily...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,248
    edited 2010-02-04 19:50
    Hi Ray,

    Sorry about asking a question that's already been answered!

    You covered selling a competing device, but what if someone wants to sell a product that uses your lcd and code but doesn't include the sources (some sort of closed device)?
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-04 19:58
    If you bought an LCD from me, feel free to use my codes for it anyway you want!· (only ask that if the code is distributed, that my copyright notice remains intact).

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,248
    edited 2010-02-05 01:58
    Thank you, Ray!
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-05 22:59
    Needing a serial terminal app for PSB, I've just adapted my old VGA window-form system for the 4.3" screen...
    It doesn't look too shabby, but I may have to shift to 8x16 font in order to show as much info on the screen as I'd like.

    Anyway check out this screenshot and test code:

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • GameHackerGameHacker Posts: 15
    edited 2010-02-12 14:00
    Wow, that is amazing! I agree with you on the font size though. I have seen many video drivers in the thread, and in my opinion the ultimate driver would have 60x17 tiles for a 8x16 font AND be able to do the 16x32 font, AND 2 bit color custom tile bitmaps.
    I think it would be benificial to have the two font sizes on this screen - for example, the smaller one for labeling a box or field, and the larger font showing the value. I tried to modify the 8x16 driver but I admit I have no idea what I am doing and the results were disastrous.

    Great work Ray!
  • nohabnohab Posts: 96
    edited 2010-02-17 20:56
    Hi,

    When trying the PSB_6bitDemo (from 2009.12.19 which I belive is the latest/only version) I'm getting "SD Failed to mount"
    However, when trying the PSB_6bitTest (from 2009.11.22) it works perfectly well (just a little flicker in the picture)

    Normally a later version works better but here, for me, it doesn't work at all.
    What's the differences between the versions and what can be wrong?
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-17 22:41
    nohab:· I just tried the version posted on this web page:

    http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/PSB/PSB.htm

    and it worked, so try that.· But, it should be the same as the Demo one you have...·
    So, I don't really know what the problem could be.

    Is this a PSB board or your own setup with a breakout board?
    If it's a breakout board, you might want to check that you have the
    correct pins set for the SD card driver...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm

    My Prop Products:· http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/Products.htm
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-17 22:43
    GameHacker said...
    Wow, that is amazing! I agree with you on the font size though. I have seen many video drivers in the thread, and in my opinion the ultimate driver would have 60x17 tiles for a 8x16 font AND be able to do the 16x32 font, AND 2 bit color custom tile bitmaps.
    I think it would be benificial to have the two font sizes on this screen - for example, the smaller one for labeling a box or field, and the larger font showing the value. I tried to modify the 8x16 driver but I admit I have no idea what I am doing and the results were disastrous.

    Great work Ray!
    GameHacker:· I was thinking this too...· I'll try to modify the 8x8 tile driver (for 8x16 font) so that it can show the ROM font too.·
    It seems like that should be easy...

    Maybe I should look for a good 8x8 font too...· I think OBC has one·in that C64 code...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm

    My Prop Products:· http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/Products.htm
  • nohabnohab Posts: 96
    edited 2010-02-17 23:09
    Rayman, the version on your website is the version that doesn't work for me.
    I bought your touchscreen and breakoutboard through Gadget Gangster, and the SD-card board is from GG to.

    In the older example, I just change the row
    if sd.mount_explicit(4,5,6,7)<0
    to
    if sd.mount_explicit(0,1,2,3)<0
    and the picture filename, and it works.

    Making the very same change in the new example does not work.
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-17 23:14
    Ok, that is a puzzle...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm

    My Prop Products:· http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/Products.htm
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-17 23:18
    Well, the PSB uses Prop Pin 2 for backlighting control....
    Check this line in the LCD driver to make sure it's been changed to the correct pin...
    CON
      'Here is where you define the pins you use to control the 4.3" LCD
      'PSB Pins
      '{
      BackLightPin=2
    

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm

    My Prop Products:· http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/Products.htm
  • nohabnohab Posts: 96
    edited 2010-02-18 11:21
    Hmm, strange, the PSB_6BitTest also uses pin 2 for background, and there it works?!?

    I'm having the same setup as you show on your web: http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/PSB/PropPlatform_Breakout.JPG, (plus SD-holder at pin 0-3), so pin 2 shouldn't be involved in the LCD at all.

    Is it correct that BackLightPin can be the same as DisplayOnPin (=24 in my config)?








    Post Edited (nohab) : 2/18/2010 11:29:34 AM GMT
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-18 16:09
    Yes, you should change the driver so that both Backlight and DisplayOn Pins are both set to 24....

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm

    My Prop Products:· http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/Products.htm
  • nohabnohab Posts: 96
    edited 2010-02-18 20:23
    Yep, now it works, thanks Rayman !

    Here is the result, my favorite Loco (made by Nohab, of course) in 6-bit color

    I also made a demo of a touch controlled switch board (base on the Paint-demo)

    This is really an awesome LCD-display!

    Post Edited (nohab) : 2/18/2010 8:37:35 PM GMT
    800 x 460 - 352K
    800 x 469 - 239K
  • Brian CarpenterBrian Carpenter Posts: 728
    edited 2010-02-24 06:15
    Nohab,
    Can you explain to me how you displayed the graphic?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔


    It's Only A Stupid Question If You Have Not Googled It First!!
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 17,711
    edited 2010-02-24 07:10
    Rayman: Just noticed you were looking for an 8x8 font. Here is AiChip's Atari font (think it's hippy's) which I am using in the 1-pin TV Text driver for SphinxOS.



    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Links to other interesting threads:

    · Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade,·RamBlade,·SixBlade, website
    · Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator)
    · Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index)
    · Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) ZiCog (Z80) , MoCog (6809)·
    · Prop OS: SphinxOS·, PropDos , PropCmd··· Search the Propeller forums·(uses advanced Google search)
    My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz·· MultiBlade Props: www.cluso.bluemagic.biz
  • nohabnohab Posts: 96
    edited 2010-02-24 13:25
    Brian Carpenter said...
    Nohab,
    Can you explain to me how you displayed the graphic?

    Brian, I'm not sure which one you mean, the picture or the switch board?

    Post Edited (nohab) : 2/24/2010 5:06:30 PM GMT
  • Brian CarpenterBrian Carpenter Posts: 728
    edited 2010-02-25 02:00
    the picture. I have a company logo that i want to display on my screen in as hi of color as possible. how many bit color is yours.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔


    It's Only A Stupid Question If You Have Not Googled It First!!
  • nohabnohab Posts: 96
    edited 2010-02-25 10:44
    It is only 6-bit-color. It's the only driver for this LCD I know about.
    The steps I did was:
    1. Choose a picture
    2. Crop and resize it to 480x272
    3. Download and run Rayman's Windows Application to turn a 480x272 image into required .dat file
    (Can be found at http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/PSB/PSB.htm)
    4. Save the .dat file to a SD-card. This requires some kind of SD-reader/writer connected to the PC
    5. Move the SD-card to the SD-cardadapter connected to the Prop.
    6. Download the PSB_6-BitPhoto (same page as above)
    7. In PSB_LcdDriver_6bit, configure pins for LCD, I used
    BackLightPin=24
    DisplayOnPin=24
    PixelClockPin=25
    DataEnablePin=26
    TouchIrqPin=27
    NotUsedPin=31
    VgaPins=%010_111
    8. In PSB_6-BitDemo, configure pins for SD-card-adapter, I used: sd.mount_explicit(0,1,2,3)
    9. A few lines below, configure filename in sd.open
    10. Run !
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-02-25 11:26
    Thanks Nohab for the walkthrough!

    Just some notes:

    If you use Photoshop and error diffusion, you can improve the appearance.

    There is some noticeable flicker using the 6-bit driver due to 11-Hz refresh rate.

    If you logo would look good in 2-bits (4 colors), then I have tv/vga 2-bit tools elsewhere on my website that can be used with the "regular" PSB driver to show graphics with no flicker.

    (I think maybe that's how Nohab did his other screen...)

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm

    My Prop Products:· http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/Products.htm
  • nohabnohab Posts: 96
    edited 2010-02-25 15:31
    That was the least I could do after your support with my problems!

    You are quite right about my other screen, it's not very difficult to see traces from the Paint demo :-)

    I did a quick hack·to show the possibilities with the Prop in a Model Railroad Exhibition. What you don't see in the picture is that both turnouts and switches in the switch bord·are touch·controlled. Just a click on the symbols to toggle.

    However, I would like to understand the graphics better, can you point me to some documentation?
  • Brian CarpenterBrian Carpenter Posts: 728
    edited 2010-03-01 05:54
    here is the logo that i want to use

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔


    It's Only A Stupid Question If You Have Not Googled It First!!
    1115 x 201 - 35K
    ATS.jpg 35.1K
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 11,974
    edited 2010-03-01 11:01
    Looks like 2-bit to me! Just use the regular driver, like with PSB Paint. You can use the 2-bit bitmap tools on my website
    to make a .dat file... I believe there's code in PSB Paint already to show 2-bit bitmaps...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm

    My Prop Products:· http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/Products.htm
  • Brian CarpenterBrian Carpenter Posts: 728
    edited 2010-03-11 04:18
    Rayman,
    I received the screen today but it looks like the breakout board i got is different from the one you have on your site. i am not sure what each pin is for and where i should be applying the +3.3v

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔


    It's Only A Stupid Question If You Have Not Googled It First!!
Sign In or Register to comment.