Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Ken/Cluso99/ W9GFO/JasonD's QuadCopter Build Log (updated info ELEV-8 + availability) — Parallax Forums

Ken/Cluso99/ W9GFO/JasonD's QuadCopter Build Log (updated info ELEV-8 + availability)

Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,386
edited 2012-11-07 13:14 in Robotics
Hey all,

Getting a little too deep in the business world lately - spreadsheets, pricing, production and meetings. Found out I was starting to loose my compass and that it wasn't too rewarding so I decided to throw some time towards building a QuadCopter. This thread will be my "build log". Must say that my whole attitude shifted to a very positive one after I started drawing some parts. Then I asked Matt to laser-cut some parts and he readily cooperated (thanks Matt!). Meanwhile my older son and I started making cables and drilling out some 5/8" diameter 0.035" wall aluminum rod. He was really enthusiastic and kept us up late working in the shop.

Don't expect too much from me in this thread, technically or content-wise. My first responsibility is towards the daily business of Parallax. And I'm also using the plug-and-configure-and-play Propeller-based Hoverfly board. There probably won't be much in the way of Propeller code here since I just want to fly a GoPro camera around. If I get comfortable with the mechanical side this could change and I'll step into a Propeller-based DIY system, but not until I see that my mechanics are air-worthy.

I'll keep a parts list on this thread (second post). Aside from that I'll do my best to make a weekly update. Everybody is welcome to post whatever they want in this thread - I welcome any input along the way. I know that Jason and many others around here like Cluso are way ahead of me and I'm interested in learning.

Some design choices have been made after research on the RC Groups discussion forum. They've got a super set of threads on QuadCopters.

The photos below show where I am today.

Thanks,

Ken Gracey