Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to Start hardware of 2Quick start board ...?? - Page 5 — Parallax Forums

How to Start hardware of 2Quick start board ...??

1235

Comments

  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2011-07-21 09:35
    That's what the "!" operator does. By definition.

    If out[x] equals one then !out[x] will change it to zero.

    If out[x] equals zero then !out[x] will change it to one.

    the ! makes easier to turn things on and off.

    Are you having fun yet? :smile:

    Duane
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2011-07-21 09:36
    outa[x]~~ will always set outa[x] to one.
    outa[x]~ will always set outa[x] to zero.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-07-21 09:51
    There is a complete description of all of these operators in the Propeller Manual and in the Propeller Tool's help files under "operators". Please refer to that if you have questions about other operators. Feel free to ask further if you don't understand, but most of what you have been asking here is well documented. Start with the documentation.
  • John A. ZoidbergJohn A. Zoidberg Posts: 514
    edited 2011-07-21 18:18
    Mike Green wrote: »
    There is a complete description of all of these operators in the Propeller Manual and in the Propeller Tool's help files under "operators". Please refer to that if you have questions about other operators. Feel free to ask further if you don't understand, but most of what you have been asking here is well documented. Start with the documentation.

    He should have understood a bit of digital electronics prior to learning microcontrollers. At least, a bit. :)

    I completed learning the Spin language in just 16 hours, I do not think it's very difficult.
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-21 21:14
    Are you having fun yet? smile.gif

    Yes........
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-21 21:26
    In QS board if external devices is to to be connected like LCD can we take supply from the board it self??
    and it should not hazard the board..and i am also having problem in identification of terminal(ports) of QS board, please tell all the pins description....
  • John A. ZoidbergJohn A. Zoidberg Posts: 514
    edited 2011-07-21 22:43
    In QS board if external devices is to to be connected like LCD can we take supply from the board it self??
    and it should not hazard the board..and i am also having problem in identification of terminal(ports) of QS board, please tell all the pins description....

    The pinouts can be found in the Propeller manual itself. It is very obvious. Here's the schematic: Propeller QuickStart Schematic
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-22 09:09
    OK, if i want to connect LCD or LED so i have to couple it with any buffer??
    and at what external rectifiers....i have done may time amplification but i am fearing to couple the devices with QS board as it should not hazard it...!!
  • LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2011-07-22 09:48
    The Propeller data sheet has the details you need, why don't you read it?
  • StefanL38StefanL38 Posts: 2,292
    edited 2011-07-22 10:23
    I second what Leon wrote.

    The minimum work that you must do YOURSELF is reading the datasheet and if something is still not clear quoting the datasheet and ask a question like

    the datsheet mentions ..... do I understand right that..... to cope with this I would do .... what do you think about it?

    Your own effort must be obvoius to the forum-members and the only way to to this is writing about your own effort.

    To say it very clear: your style of asking is like this: I want to phone! Can somebody bring the cordless phone to the bed, looking up the number, dialing the number and then handover the phone to me? (because I'm too lazy to do these things myself)
    I'm really curoius how many posts it takes until you change your style of asking.

    change your questionstyle
    best regards

    Stefan
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2011-07-22 11:44
    As I suggested in Post #107, you should work through the PEK, (Propeller Education Kit). That would answer about 90 percent of your questions.

    http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/prod/prop/PEKitLabs-v1.2.pdf

    Give it a try.
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-25 09:20
    I found using QS board with other ports ....is too easy then using Gates,decoders,etc etc.....
    as i was using my 7 segment Display with few codes i found it very cool to use and easy then my previous circuit ( Logic's..)

    Now lets come to one more doubt of my, I want to connect my 16x2 lines LCD displays for this i have written down the code which seems to be not working....here it is.
    con

    _CLKMODE = RCFAST


    PIN_DO =0 ' TO D0
    PIN_D1 =1 ' " D1
    PIN_D2 =2 ' " D2
    PIN_D3 =3 ' "D3
    PIN_D4 =4 ' "D4
    PIN_D5 =5 ' " D5
    PIN_D6 =6 ' " D6
    PIN_D7 =7 ' " D7
    PIN_E =8 ' TO ENABLE PIN OF DISPLAY
    PIN_RS = 9 ' TO REG. SELECT
    D = 500_000
    PUB LCD

    DIRA[0..7]~~
    DIRA[9]~~

    DIRA[PIN_E] ~~ ' intialzing reg.
    OUTA[9] :=%0
    OUTA[PIN_E] :=%1
    OUTA[0..7] := %00111000
    WAITCNT(D +CNT)
    OUTA[PIN_E] :=%0

    WAITCNT(D + CNT)
    OUTA[PIN_E] :=%1
    OUTA[0..7] :=%00001100
    WAITCNT(D + CNT)
    OUTA [PIN_E] :=%0

    WAITCNT (D + CNT)
    OUTA[PIN_E] :=%1
    OUTA[0..7] :=%00000001
    WAITCNT( D + CNT)
    OUTA[PIN_E] :=%0

    WAITCNT(D + CNT)
    OUTA[PIN_E] :=%1
    OUTA[0..7] :=%00000110
    WAITCNT(D + CNT)
    OUTA[PIN_E] :=%0

    WAITCNT(D + CNT)
    OUTA[PIN_E] :=%1
    OUTA[0..7] :=%00000000
    WAITCNT ( D+ CNT)
    OUTA[ PIN_E] :=%0


    OUTA[9] :=%1 ' entering asci codes..
    WAITCNT (D+ CNT)
    OUTA[PIN_E] :=%1
    OUTA[0..7] :=$12
    WAITCNT( D + CNT)
    OUTA[ PIN_E] :=0
  • StefanL38StefanL38 Posts: 2,292
    edited 2011-07-25 09:53
    Hi Ritesh,

    please use the Go Advanced Button in the right lower corner of the edit window.
    a new editor will appear with an option to insert CODE. This will preserve the indention of the code.
    Indention is essential to programming in SPIN.

    Please provide a datasheet of your LCD and a datsheet of its controller-chip.
    Without that information it is not possible to analyse where the bug is.

    Keep providing all nescessary information
    best regards

    Stefan
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-25 10:29
    Here is the data sheet, as i have given this before in my previous posts....
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2011-07-25 10:37
    Did you try the suggestion in Post #104 and #105?

    There is an object in the OBEX that supports that display.

    http://obex.parallax.com/objects/667/

    It has a 8 bit interface. Search boxes are your friend.
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-25 10:44
    if downloaded that codes but they are not working properly...error in "timing", etc....................
  • StefanL38StefanL38 Posts: 2,292
    edited 2011-07-25 13:56
    so try this ... or that... maybe that helps.

    oh it does not help? Do you need some more specific information as "...."

    Yes you are right. But if we (the other forum-members) should help we need more specific information too!

    In my understanding providing a datasheet means you attach the PDF-file to a posting.

    I want to be really honest: you posted a link with a google search. This is what I thought about that

    "either he's too lazy to search for the datasheet himself and wants to shift the work on others
    or he wants to be kidding and annoying.

    You would be friendly and really cooperative to attach the datasheet once again. With your google-search you force the froum-member to
    look up several google hits just to see its an asian version of the datasheet and not in english
    or to research your posting from now four pages of postings.
    This is a style of giving others extra work for keeping a style of maximised lazyness to yourself..

    keep the specific information coming
    best regards

    Stefan
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-26 00:07
    In my understanding providing a data-sheet means you attach the PDF-file to a posting.

    I have given Google link with all data sheet because for more info. of LCD....!!
    Data sheet , data sheet 2
  • StefanL38StefanL38 Posts: 2,292
    edited 2011-07-26 00:44
    Hi Ritesh,

    datasheet 2 is usable. datsheet1 contains asiatic characters which I can't display right on my PC.

    In this datasheet there is still not much information on how to communicate with it.
    On a posting above you wrote about timing problems.
    Could you please explain in DETAILS

    - how you connected the display to the propeller (which propeller-pin to which LCD-input)
    - the FULL code with every single line of code that is nescessary to make the program compile in the propellertool as an
    - a DETAILED description of what happens on the display if you run the code form the OBEX.

    keep the detailed descriptions coming
    best regards

    Stefan
    We all are NOT glassphere-watchers that can read your mind or watch your display by parapsychological abilities.
  • caskazcaskaz Posts: 957
    edited 2011-07-26 00:52
    Hi Ritesh.

    You use JHD162A. I use JHD164A(4Line 16Character).
    I wrote driver(8bit mode) for PropForth.
    If you are interesting it, please try to translate it to spin(needing assembler).

    code and curcuit is at #38 below:
    http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?132332-PropForth-4.5-Available-for-download/page2
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-26 07:40
    Hi Ritesh.

    You use JHD162A. I use JHD164A(4Line 16Character).
    I wrote driver(8bit mode) for Prop Forth..........
    Thanks i will sure try it..!!
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-26 07:45
    Hello,

    I have try new code today...!!
    and i have connected LCD supply to propeller board
    {{ simple testing LCD............
    xyz......!!}}
    
    CON
    
     _CLKMODE = RCFAST
     RS = 10  'to port  10
     E  = 11   'to port  11
     D0 = 0    'to port  0 to 7
     D7 = 7
     DELAY =1_000_000
    PUB LCD
    
     DIRA[0..7]~~
     DELAY1
     OUTA[RS] :=%0
    
     OUTA[E] :=%1
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[D0..D7] :=%00111000
     OUTA[E] :=%0
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[E] :=%1
     DELAY1
     
     OUTA[D0..D7] :=%00001100
     OUTA[E] :=%0
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[E] :=%1
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[D0..D7] :=%00000001
     OUTA[E] :=%0
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[E] :=%1
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[D0..D7] :=%00000110
     OUTA[E] :=%0
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[E] :=%1
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[D0..D7] :=%00000000
     OUTA[E] :=%0
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[E] :=%1
     DELAY1
    
     DELAY1
     OUTA[RS] :=%1
     DELAY1
     
     OUTA[D0..D7] :=%00110011
     OUTA[E] :=%0
     DELAY1
    
     OUTA[E] :=%1
     DELAY1
     
     OUTA[D0..D8] :=%11110011
     OUTA[E] :=%0
    
     
    
     
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    PRI DELAY1
    
     REPEAT 10
      WAITCNT ( DELAY + CNT )
    
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-28 07:30
    reply....................
  • LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2011-07-28 07:39
    Did it work?
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-28 08:49
    If this work then why i will ask help again??
  • LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2011-07-28 09:05
    You didn't ask a question, which is why I asked if it worked.

    Did the the software do anything?
  • StefanL38StefanL38 Posts: 2,292
    edited 2011-07-28 09:09
    we need more info on how to help!!
  • mindrobotsmindrobots Posts: 6,506
    edited 2011-07-28 09:10
    I think the point is, your msg #143 doesn't read as a request for additional help.

    You state you have new code, you connected the LCD to the Prop board and you list your code.......

    No mention of what it did or didn't do, what you expected, what you tried or didn't try, what you understand or don't understand...

    As others have stated many different ways in this thread, the people in the forum will help and as can be seen, they expend a LOT of their time and energy in helping but the person asking for help does need to make an effort and work at this. I don't think anyone is gogin to read the manual to you or walk you thorugh whatever you want to do step by step. You are execpted to put the most effort into your project and try to find the answer rather than just hoping somone else will give you the answer, this is life, not school.

    Also, as mentioned before, a follow-up posting of 'reply.....' is a bit demanding of people that are taking their free time trying to help you. I would be be shocked by that attitude from my 9 year old and it would be corrected....there's no excuse for that attitude toward the forum members from a (presumed) adult.
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2011-07-28 18:23
    reply....................
    149 messages and I don't think he has listened to a thing we have said.
  • RITESH KAKKARRITESH KAKKAR Posts: 254
    edited 2011-07-28 21:44
    OK, in my LCD display the upper line is not glowing at all and 2nd line has are full of dots ..!!
    the LCD want 4.5V to work and i am taking propeller QS power supply but nothing is happening. The LCD display the same thing. nothing else no cursor no data ( asci code ) i have done initializing as you can see in code..!!
Sign In or Register to comment.