New 4.3" touchscreen LCD for Propeller: "used" screens almost free w/purchase.

13468924

Comments

  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-18 - 10:40:37
    All you need is about 20 V... It's something like 10 LEDs in series... But, the easiest way is to use some kind of IC to do it from a 3.3 or 5 V supply...

    If you look at the schematic I posted, I think the part# for the chip I used is there, but there are actually many different types of chips you could use...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • MausmanMausman Posts: 16
    edited 2009-10-18 - 10:52:11
    Ok thx, i will look for a ic to drive the leds.

    Otherwise i need a extra power supply to the schematic.
    Just wanted to know because i am working on a new board for the lcd.

    Anyone has any idee how to parse a image from sd to lcd?
    This would be nice for a startup screen.
    And how to create the dat files for buttons etc?
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-18 - 10:55:43
    One other small thing... In cases of a portable system with ~3V battery, you'd want to use the battery voltage directly on the LED driver, not a regulated supply. But, I don't think battery supply is the usual case here...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • MausmanMausman Posts: 16
    edited 2009-10-18 - 11:07:02
    To drive it with a 3v battery is a bad idea, power comsumption is to big.
    I just want to power it using power regulators, 3.3v and 5v.
    Now i have a gps logging and want to add a lcd.
    A toutchscreen would eliminate switches and it will be much more profesional.
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-18 - 11:09:18
    Good News! Just heard I'll be getting 200 more in a week or two...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • BaggersBaggers Posts: 2,965
    edited 2009-10-18 - 11:46:07
    Excellent news Rayman [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    http://www.propgfx.co.uk/forum/·home of the PropGFX Lite

    ·
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2009-10-18 - 17:27:49
    Yes!! I may go for even more then 4, my birthday is in about a month. smile.gif

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Computers are microcontrolled.

    Robots are microcontrolled.
    I am microcontrolled.

    But you·can·call me micro.

    Want to·experiment with the SX or just put together a cool project?
    SX Spinning light display·


    Projects, tutorials, and more! http://microcontrolled.com/
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-18 - 21:56:19
    Mausman said...

    Anyone has any idee how to parse a image from sd to lcd?
    This would be nice for a startup screen.
    And how to create the dat files for buttons etc?

    It's going to be hard to show an image with this display, just like with VGA...· 1, 2, or perhaps a small 6-bit images is easy...

    Need some external memory to do a real photo though...·

    I haven't really thought it through, but perhaps one could repeatedly read an image from SD card while updating the screen at 10 Hz or so...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • mctriviamctrivia Posts: 3,772
    edited 2009-10-18 - 22:04:12
    my memory module should be able to generate 16bit images easily. 24bit should hopefully be possible also.

    without extended ram modules though photos would be very difficult.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    propmod_us and propmod_1x1 are in stock. Only $30. PCB available for $5

    Want to make projects and have Gadget Gangster sell them for you? propmod-us_ps_sd and propmod-1x1 are now available for use in your Gadget Gangster Projects.

    Need to upload large images or movies for use in the forum. you can do so at uploader.propmodule.com for free.
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-19 - 00:46:58
    Just boxed up 7 more orders... Only 7 more to go...

    This really is tough work, I'm really earning my measely compensation here...
    In case you're curious, they come to me in platters of 10 on an ABS plastic tray. At first, I was cutting the trays up with a wire-cutter-like tool in order to use the very nice trays for shipping, but this was hard work. So, I took the trays to a table saw and cut them up that way. This worked great, but now I have black particles everywhere... My new way is to use a box cutter to slice the trays up... It's hard work, but no black ABS powder around...

    I'm testing each screen with my PSB prototype and the "Paint!" app... Tested about 70 now and they all work. The paint app does need tweaking though because on some screens I have to push harder than on others... I think the screen resistance is not as constant between units as I imagined... Think I'm going to have to make determining the screen resistance part of the "calibrate" function to make this work for all the screens...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-19 - 01:04:26
    Ok, PSB prototype Rev2 (or 3 maybe) is on order [noparse]:)[/noparse]
    I hoped to have time to look over it very carefully, but that
    didn't happen, so I've switched to a "faith based" approach (with prayer backup)...

    Here's what it looks like:


    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    1164 x 771 - 67K
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • MausmanMausman Posts: 16
    edited 2009-10-19 - 12:26:31
    A two or six bit image would be fine.
    I just think that it will be easyer to load from sd than to draw everything.
    Does someone has an example on how to transfer the data?
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-19 - 12:39:11
    The PSB driver that I posted works just like the VGA driver (with different numbers of tiles in x and y)...

    If you look on my website you can find code and tools for displaying 1 and 2 bit images.
    These are easily modified to work with this display.
    Also, it's easy to get them to load from SD card. Just reserve space for them and then copy them in...

    For 6-bit images, I'll probably write a custom driver so that one can do it with just one cog (instead of 3).

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • MausmanMausman Posts: 16
    edited 2009-10-19 - 12:56:32
    Ok Thx i will take a look. Two bit sounds fine, maybe later on i will try 6 bit.
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-19 - 16:12:09
    My prototype breakout boards come tomorrow... Should know soon if that design I've posted works or not...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,090
    edited 2009-10-19 - 17:06:21
    My three arrived today! They look great! Great job Ray!

    Keep us posted on the breakout board.

    OBC

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    New to the Propeller?

    Visit the: The Propeller Pages @ Warranty Void.
    <br>
  • Bill HenningBill Henning Posts: 6,445
    edited 2009-10-19 - 17:56:07
    Cool [noparse]:)[/noparse]
    Rayman said...
    Good News! Just heard I'll be getting 200 more in a week or two...
    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Please use mikronauts _at_ gmail _dot_ com to contact me off-forum, my PM is almost totally full
    Morpheus & Mem+dual Prop SBC w/ 512KB kit $119.95, 2MB memory IO board kit $89.95, both kits $189.95
    www.mikronauts.com - my site 6.250MHz custom Crystals for running Propellers at 100MHz
    Las - Large model assembler for the Propeller Largos - a feature full nano operating system for the Propeller
    www.mikronauts.com / E-mail: mikronauts _at_ gmail _dot_ com / @Mikronauts on Twitter
    RoboPi: The most advanced Robot controller for the Raspberry Pi (Propeller based)
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-20 - 21:32:04
    Breakout boards are here!· (well, 3 at least).

    Time to see if they work...

    Here's what they look like:

    (I'm trying to be clever and combine this board with a board for Bean's monochrome LCD...)

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    1496 x 1122 - 898K
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • mctriviamctrivia Posts: 3,772
    edited 2009-10-21 - 03:18:32
    hope they work for you. the back light driver may be an issue you did not follow the data sheets recommended foot print which may cause problems in the switching supply. Also hard to tell but do you have a ground plane? will still likely work but will drastically increase EMI.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    propmod_us and propmod_1x1 are in stock. Only $30. PCB available for $5

    Want to make projects and have Gadget Gangster sell them for you? propmod-us_ps_sd and propmod-1x1 are now available for use in your Gadget Gangster Projects.

    Need to upload large images or movies for use in the forum. you can do so at uploader.propmodule.com for free.
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-21 - 10:13:53
    I've posted the layout on page 5 of this thread... Yes, it's all on a ground plane. I don't believe EMI is an issue. I know the circuit can work, because I've already got it working in my PSB #1 prototype board. Only question is whether I made any mistakes moving the circuits to this breakout board...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-21 - 16:13:00
    Breakout board works!· Well, at least the LCD part...· Now, I have to solder on the touchscreen chip...

    Here's a photo of it working with the Propeller Platform.

    I actually targeted the Protoboard for this breakout board, so the pin arrangement isn't ideal for Prop Platform.
    Think I'll rearrange some pins to make it better for the Propeller Platform...

    This thing was driving me crazy this morning because I forgot that I had some of the pins hard-coded in the assembly driver...· Spent at least 2 hours figuring that out...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    1496 x 1122 - 873K
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,090
    edited 2009-10-21 - 16:27:46
    Looks great Ray!

    I see a touch screen Propeller in my near future.

    OBC

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    New to the Propeller?

    Visit the: The Propeller Pages @ Warranty Void.
    <br>
  • Bill HenningBill Henning Posts: 6,445
    edited 2009-10-21 - 16:35:48
    Very nice!!!
    Rayman said...
    Breakout board works! Well, at least the LCD part... Now, I have to solder on the touchscreen chip...


    Here's a photo of it working with the Propeller Platform.



    I actually targeted the Protoboard for this breakout board, so the pin arrangement isn't ideal for Prop Platform.

    Think I'll rearrange some pins to make it better for the Propeller Platform...



    This thing was driving me crazy this morning because I forgot that I had some of the pins hard-coded in the assembly driver... Spent at least 2 hours figuring that out...
    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    www.mikronauts.com Please use mikronauts _at_ gmail _dot_ com to contact me off-forum, my PM is almost totally full
    Morpheusdual Prop SBC w/ 512KB kit $119.95, Mem+2MB memory IO board kit $89.95, both kits $189.95
    Propteus and Proteus for Propeller prototyping 6.250MHz custom Crystals run Propellers at 100MHz
    Las - Large model assembler for the Propeller Largos - a feature full nano operating system for the Propeller
    www.mikronauts.com / E-mail: mikronauts _at_ gmail _dot_ com / @Mikronauts on Twitter
    RoboPi: The most advanced Robot controller for the Raspberry Pi (Propeller based)
  • mctriviamctrivia Posts: 3,772
    edited 2009-10-21 - 16:40:43
    can't wait to get the screens you sent me and my breakout boards in.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    propmod_us and propmod_1x1 are in stock. Only $30. PCB available for $5

    Want to make projects and have Gadget Gangster sell them for you? propmod-us_ps_sd and propmod-1x1 are now available for use in your Gadget Gangster Projects.

    Need to upload large images or movies for use in the forum. you can do so at uploader.propmodule.com for free.
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-21 - 16:41:59
    Looks like I may have gotten the colors right this time!


    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    1496 x 1122 - 286K
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2009-10-21 - 17:03:55
    Nice work!!

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Computers are microcontrolled.

    Robots are microcontrolled.
    I am microcontrolled.

    But you·can·call me micro.

    Want to·experiment with the SX or just put together a cool project?
    SX Spinning light display·
    Want cheap wholesale electronic parts?
    Transistor parts wholesale




    Projects, tutorials, and more! http://microcontrolled.com/
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-21 - 17:31:56
    Touchscreen works!

    (My 3 year old likes to play with this app, BTW [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    1496 x 1122 - 683K
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 9,909
    edited 2009-10-21 - 18:55:32
    That's it! Just boxed up the 98th screen, I'm done [noparse]:)[/noparse] At least, until another batch comes. All 100 screens test OK, at least with the very basic test I ran on them.

    There does seem to be some variation in screen resistance... This isn't important for measuring X or Y, but does play a role in measuring Z (how hard you're pushing on the screen). I put in a Z window filter into the Paint app that I still need to loosen up a bit so that it works with all the screens...

    Shipping these 23 orders was something new for me... Looks like it may turn out OK though. Using Paypal and USPS online made things relatively pain free. I think everybody should get their boxes within the next week. Please email me if you don't.

    There were 4 orders that didn't get processed this time. I'll put these at the front of the line for the next go around...

    My thanks to all you brave people ordering screens before the breakout boards are ready!

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm

    Post Edited (Rayman) : 10/21/2009 7:11:41 PM GMT
    Prop Info and Apps: http://www.rayslogic.com/
  • jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2009-10-21 - 19:20:09
    Rayman said...
    Touchscreen works!
    Great work Rayman!
  • mctriviamctrivia Posts: 3,772
    edited 2009-10-21 - 19:47:31
    Yes lots of orders.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    propmod_us and propmod_1x1 are in stock. Only $30. PCB available for $5

    Want to make projects and have Gadget Gangster sell them for you? propmod-us_ps_sd and propmod-1x1 are now available for use in your Gadget Gangster Projects.

    Need to upload large images or movies for use in the forum. you can do so at uploader.propmodule.com for free.
Sign In or Register to comment.