Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New 4.3" touchscreen LCD for Propeller: "used" screens almost free w/purchase. - Page 16 — Parallax Forums

New 4.3" touchscreen LCD for Propeller: "used" screens almost free w/purchase.

1131416181924

Comments

  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-22 20:33
    Got the 6x10 font working!· I think it's pretty legible too.

    Gives 80 columns by 27 rows (plus top two lines of 28th row).

    There's one bug that I'm having trouble nailing down though...· If you set the colors to white on black anywhere on the screen, the screen goes unstable.· It's driving me crazy!

    Anyway, for now, don't use white on black!

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • Luis DigitalLuis Digital Posts: 371
    edited 2009-12-22 21:11
    > Gives 80 columns by 27 rows (plus top two lines of 28th row).

    The plan now is to make an eBook. lol

    > If you set the colors to white on black anywhere on the screen, the screen goes unstable.

    What we have here, a display racist?

    Thanks Ray for many options.
  • AribaAriba Posts: 2,685
    edited 2009-12-23 09:35
    Here are my Text drivers

    1) Landscape format 60x34 characters with 8x8 pixel font.
    Can be switched between 60x17 and 60x34 mode while running, this allows a zoom mode.

    2) Portrait format 45x40 characters with a 6x8 font and 4 empty lines between rows.

    Both allow to define the Background color and an individual color for every character out of all 64 possible colors.
    There is also an Inverse-Bit which allows to swap Fore-and Backgroundcolor i.e for cursors and Block selection.

    For both, I have written a TV_Text compliant layer. This makes it easy to replace the TV-Monitor by this TFT in all applications
    which use TV_Text (or VGA_Text or PC_Text).
    The text drivers have an additional methode: button(stringptr) which allows to draw a text with a border around it.

    The Text drivers include a little Testcode for demonstration. This Testcode can be deleted (or commented out) to get
    a clean driver object.

    Andy
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-23 18:10
    Thanks Andy! I'll try them out after I figure out why black and white doesn't work on mine....

    I think I've figured out that the problem is too fast a video clock... I think strange things happen when a waitvid ends before another one starts...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-24 00:41
    Ok, TinyFont is all better now...· Here's a more stable version and the program that turns that font file into a .dat file...

    Had to resort to using 16 bytes for each character because inner waitvid loop wasn't fast enough to do a x10 multiply...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-25 20:45
    Here's some screenshots of Ariba's fonts (Nice Work!):

    (Think I need to get a tripod out to do this better...)





    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
    1496 x 1122 - 772K
    1496 x 1122 - 755K
  • Luis DigitalLuis Digital Posts: 371
    edited 2009-12-25 21:07
    Rayman said...
    Here's some screenshots of Ariba's fonts (Nice Work!):

    (Think I need to get a tripod out to do this better...)

    I was watching last night's work Ariba, and I liked it, especially the driver TSD_rot6x8.

    Another thing is the assembly code looks so simple. Place the BL code in Spin was also a good idea, but had to write a little function to change the brightness, for example:
    PUB BL_Bright(bright)
       repeat bright    
         outa[noparse][[/noparse]bl]  := 0 
         outa[noparse][[/noparse]bl]  := 1
    



    It'sa good idea to separate the code from the screen and the BL, because I use another smile.gif and because in the future you can still upgrade with minimal modifications and using the same functions (API).
  • Luis DigitalLuis Digital Posts: 371
    edited 2009-12-25 22:09
    Ray,

    The driver / Demo "PSB Paint", seems to have a bug with "newline" at the end of the last lines display becomes unstable.

    Try:
      repeat                        
       newline                      
       printStr(string("New line")) 
       Waitcnt(clkfreq/2 + cnt)       
    
    
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-26 00:35
    Yeah, that's in inherent problem with an odd number of rows (17)... Not quite sure what to do about that...
    Probably should make #rows either 16 or 18...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • fullspecengfullspeceng Posts: 76
    edited 2009-12-26 11:30
    I got a few of Ray's touchscreens and wanted to play with them.

    For the LT3593ES6 backlight driver what's a good inductor and diode part number to use? Those switching inverters are picky sometimes.

    I noticed Ray's schematic had various Vdds. Is everything just 3.3V?
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-26 12:51
    Check the datasheet, but I think you can use a wide range of voltages... Also, I believe the datasheet recommends 10uH and 1 uF. But, you need to be careful with the spec's of those parts...

    I've been using Digikey 445-1538-1-ND and 445-1423-1-ND ...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • fullspecengfullspeceng Posts: 76
    edited 2009-12-26 18:12
    Thanks for the tip on the inductor. How about the diode? Which one do you use for that?

    Thanks again.
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-26 18:54
    was using zhcs500ct-nd until they ran out, now using zhcs506ct-nd...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • mctriviamctrivia Posts: 3,772
    edited 2009-12-26 18:57
    It must be a shotkey. Silicon will allow voltage to drop to low.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    24 bit LCD Breakout Board now in. $21.99 has backlight driver and touch sensitive decoder.
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-26 19:10
    I think you want Shottky because it has a lower forward voltage drop and will therefore be more efficient. Also, it's fast enough for the switching speed.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • mctriviamctrivia Posts: 3,772
    edited 2009-12-26 19:15
    Those are good things but the driver ic can not handle a reverse voltage of -0.7v so they spec shotkey to prevent that.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    24 bit LCD Breakout Board now in. $21.99 has backlight driver and touch sensitive decoder.
  • mcstarmcstar Posts: 144
    edited 2009-12-27 05:18
    Ray,
    Do you have any more of these screens? I'd like a couple if so.

    Thanks.

    Michael Schwab
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-27 11:41
    yes, there are more for $18 each. Just send an email to ray@rayslogic.com with your order....

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • HarleyHarley Posts: 997
    edited 2009-12-27 23:45
    Rayman,

    What else besides the $18 touchscreen is required to use?

    Is this the i/f that required a special connector (non-0.1" spacing)? Is there any adapter, if so? I'm lost with a number of LCDs I'd read about recently.

    I'm interested in a color display.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Harley Shanko
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-28 00:07
    You probably want a breakout board for it. You can get them from me, mctrivia, or GadgetGangster.com...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • HarleyHarley Posts: 997
    edited 2009-12-29 20:53
    Rayman,

    If I purchase a 4.3" used touchscreen and a breakout board, is that ALL needed to connect up to a Prop and power?

    If so, I'm ready to purchase them. How does one pay? Is by check OK?

    I'll furnish an address by PM, OK? yeah.gif

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Harley Shanko
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-29 20:57
    Yes, look toward the bottom of this page for photos of it hooked up to protoboard and also to a Prop Platform board:

    http://www.rayslogic.com/Propeller/Products/PSB/PSB_Display.htm

    Send an email to ray@rayslogic.com with your order.· Paypal will send you instructions on how to pay.· I believe you can pay with check, but your order will be held up until the check clears to Paypal.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • ry.davidry.david Posts: 63
    edited 2009-12-30 03:52
    Ariba said...
    Landscape format 60x34 characters with 8x8 pixel font.
    Can be switched between 60x17 and 60x34 mode while running, this allows a zoom mode.

    Is it possible to do a native 8x16 font (rather than a 8x8 with the rows doubled)? I am trying to sort through Ariba's driver, but I am not very comfortable how the video generation works yet. I am using the driver in full character height (rows = 17, char height = 2), but it would be awesome to have smoother characters.

    Thanks both Rayman and Ariba for your efforts on this display
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-30 15:05
    I think I will do a 8x16 font, just because my 6x10 driver can be easily modified to do it. I've already picked out a font, just need to finish it up...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • AribaAriba Posts: 2,685
    edited 2009-12-30 19:01
    ry.david

    This driver is a little special in that the font is in the CogRAM. That's why the access of the single font-bytes is complicated.
    A 8x16 font would not fit in CogRAM, so another technik is needed.

    I have also a driver which accesses font data from MainRAM, perhaps an 8x12 font (from the VGA drivers) is a good size?

    Andy
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-31 14:24
    I didn't realize you had the font in COG RAM! That's very nice. Mine takes up a lot of HUB memory...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,181
    edited 2009-12-31 22:52
    Here's an 8x16 font driver (gives 60 columns by 17 rows):


    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    My Prop Info&Apps: ·http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/propeller.htm

    Post Edited (Rayman) : 12/31/2009 10:58:44 PM GMT
  • AquaaddictAquaaddict Posts: 20
    edited 2010-01-01 17:22
    Hi,

    Finally got my LCD and (Mctrivia) breakout board hooked up, but the display isnt right and I have no idea why.

    On Ray's Grafx demo the top title bar it pretty stable, but gets echod for want of a better desription twice below it, and there is lots of flickering of the rest of the screen. Here is a video of it·; as you can see the animated lines in background appear to move OK behind the corruption.

    The paint program looks semi normal but the image is clearly not right, and the VGA demo program looks barley recognisable (see attached images)

    Can anyone please suggest what the problem might be?

    My pins are set as follows:

    BackLightPin=11
    · DisplayOnPin=8
    · PixelClockPin=10
    · DataEnablePin=9
    · TouchIrqPin=27· 'This pin is really optional, but touchscreen sets this whenever screen is touched
    · NotUsedPin=26·· 'Need to define one pin that is not to be used for LCD (can still be used for anything else)
    · VgaPins=%000_111 'RGB and syncs connected to P0-7

    I have double checked all pins are connected correctly and tried 3 different LCDs, and just cant find anything wrong.

    Thanks

    Anthony
    1600 x 1088 - 194K
    1600 x 1200 - 243K
    1600 x 1045 - 223K
  • ry.davidry.david Posts: 63
    edited 2010-01-01 17:56
    Aquaaddict,
    I get a similar result when VSync is not connected securely.

    Ariba,
    I didn't realize it was in cog ram either, That would make sense.

    Rayman,
    Thanks for the 8x16 driver, looks great. I downloaded the application you posted earlier for importing fonts into DAT. What file format do you use for an input file?
  • AquaaddictAquaaddict Posts: 20
    edited 2010-01-01 18:06
    Hi, thanks but checked syncs again, both connected ok, and image pretty much dissapears if I disconnect either. Forgot to say am only using about 9" of ribbon cable I presume that is not to long?

    Ants
Sign In or Register to comment.