Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
pasm tutorial — Parallax Forums

pasm tutorial

This is a pasm tutorial that I have started. I have found that almost all the tutorials that I have seen start simple and suddenly jump to something very complex. I decided to write one with examples of all of the pasm directives. This example is just the beginning part. Thanks to all who have answered my questions.
BTW I am no expert and this is mostly for me so I can learn pasm better. If anyone has any suggestions they are greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Comments

• Pilot:
    I downloaded and printed your tutorial. Clearly a good deal of time and effort. Thanks. A few comments on the part I have studied.

First, I like the idea of a tutorial that does more than blink a light.

On your first program, I don't see the limitation of values of 0 to 256. The number is always in a long, both in the spin portion and the PASM portion.

In the PASM portion, I would have written:
    asm    org   0
              mov  data_adrs, par     'input parameter address
              mov  answer_adrs, par   'another copy
              add  answer_adrs, #4    'output address
              rdlong temp, data_adrs       'fetch from hub
              wrlong temp, answer_ads    'stash into hub
              cogid temp
              cogstop temp                    'never ever run off the end of a PASM
    data_adrs  res 1                           'I think this variable is more descriptive
    answer_adrs  res 1
    temp    res  1

Finally, I would have defined the variables datavar and answervar as an array. This is because I am superstitous and do not trust spin to assign variables in order.

• I find it interesting to see the code I write in C and then reveal it in assembler as there is an option in SimpleIDE to show the assembler code.