Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Understanding the performance costs of hub execution. — Parallax Forums

Understanding the performance costs of hub execution.

brianhbrianh Posts: 22
edited 2022-09-23 14:09 in Propeller 2

Hi all. I'm new to the P2 and could use some help understanding this from a code execution time and predictability standpoint.

For my P1 project, I needed a relatively small amount of code with very low latency (<400 ns in many areas). I followed the "typical" model of writing PASM code for cog RAM with tight loops and pin wait code, and only used Spin1 to provide some simple start/stop/configure cog semantics and hub "mailbox" message passing. I'm sure we've all seen this model for coding on both the P1 and P2.

For my P2 project, I have more head room on the latency side, and my application is much more complicated. This makes me want to write much more code in Spin2 and use PASM2 much more sparingly. I'd like to try to have cog execution/RAM only used for running inline PASM2 code that is put in as an optimization, and probably also for code that is interrupt triggered (though, I don't really understand P2 interrupts and events very well, yet). I'll use smart pins too, and would prefer to manage them from Spin2.

I think this means that my code's critical sections will incur only the performance cost of moving them to cog RAM each time they execute, or the performance cost of hub execution if the compiler doesn't move them. Is this correct? How do I choose between these two options, and is there a straight-forward way to measure this cost and have it be predictable? Also, in cases where this performance cost is not tenable, is an event/interrupt handler that permanently resides in cog RAM the right solution? How to set those up and how do I also measure the performance overhead for that code?