Shop Learn P1 Docs P2 Docs
TAQOZ Reloaded v2.8 - Word Glossary - Page 3 — Parallax Forums

TAQOZ Reloaded v2.8 - Word Glossary

13»

Comments

  • Hi Bob:

    Regarding variable space, Christof's limiting value $200 (512 bytes) is not correct. It is much larger. See the number of data bytes used after rebooting. Using large arrays may cause problems. They should be defined in hub memory > 128k.

    I also note that LOG and EXP are not natural logs but log base 2 as described in Chip's documentation.

    Nick

  • Hi @nchlor Nick,
    I've made changes to 'DEFINING VARIABLES' and 'MATHS' sections inline with your comments. Many thanks for that.
    Bob

  • Christof Eb.Christof Eb. Posts: 773
    edited 2022-03-16 10:04

    @nchlor said:
    Hi Bob:

    Regarding variable space, Christof's limiting value $200 (512 bytes) is not correct. It is much larger. See the number of data bytes used after rebooting. Using large arrays may cause problems. They should be defined in hub memory > 128k.

    I also note that LOG and EXP are not natural logs but log base 2 as described in Chip's documentation.

    Nick

    Hi Nick, which version of Taqoz do you use exactly?

    My statement was related to the binary version, as described in the first post here: https://forums.parallax.com/discussion/173767/p2-taqoz-v2-8-for-25mhz-crystal-of-kiss-with-sd-card-921600-baud#latest
    (( I have perceived your saying: "Christof's ... IS NOT CORRECT" as "impertinence", as I had experienced the limit the hard way by crashing code. So if you don't intend such feelings, you might want to use different words in future.... ))

    I have seen, that memory layout and pins assignment for vga vary between versions even if they have the same version number.
    Christof

  • Hi Bob,
    perhaps it would be good, if you could include the exact origin of your version of Taqoz 2.8 into your Glossary to avoid misunderstandings.
    Christof

  • Hi Christof

    Sorry for my   wording.   I am using the most current version of TAQOZ as described in the glossary with a substantial addition of variables in my program.  I believe that using VGA would require significant free memory
    

    which is only available in the hub >128000 k.

    Nick

  • bob_g4bbybob_g4bby Posts: 346
    edited 2022-03-16 19:50

    Hi @"Christof Eb."
    That would be useful. In version 52 of the glossary I've described my particular set up of Taqoz v2.8 in section 'Installing TAQOZ RELOADED - Method 2' towards the back of the glossary, together with the boot message I receive on switch-on. The system reports 1368 bytes free for data - although I haven't tested that to be true. I use this set-up because I have no interest in onboard VGA or multimedia support at the moment, I'd rather have the space for my application. Whether you have $200 bytes or 1568 bytes, neither is really enough for a large application - so exploring the space above the first 128K is a useful thing to do - especially as I'm interested in software defined radio which needs multiple data buffers.
    Cheers, Bob

  • @bob_g4bby said:
    Hi @"Christof Eb."
    That would be useful. In version 52 of the glossary I've described my particular set up of Taqoz v2.8 in section 'Installing TAQOZ RELOADED - Method 2' towards the back of the glossary, together with the boot message I receive on switch-on. The system reports 1368 bytes free for data - although I haven't tested that to be true. I use this set-up because I have no interest in onboard VGA or multimedia support at the moment, I'd rather have the space for my application. Whether you have $200 bytes or 1568 bytes, neither is really enough for a large application - so exploring the space above the first 128K is a useful thing to do - especially as I'm interested in software defined radio which needs multiple data buffers.
    Cheers, Bob

    Ah, good,
    I have now dug out my Kiss board, it says:
    KERNEL Parallax P2 TAQOZ RELOADED sIDE V2.8 'CHIP' Prop_Ver G 200MHz 210401-1230
    Christof

  • Perhaps this is something for the glossary too.
    Something very special did hamper me for several hours:

    This works:
    TAQOZ# : .1 1 . ; --- ok
    TAQOZ# .1 --- 1 ok

    Does not work:
    TAQOZ# : .1_ 1 . ; --- ok
    TAQOZ# .1_ --- ok No error but no action!

    TAQOZ# see .1_

    1B686: pub .1_
    0BB30: 1801 1
    0BB32: 2B6F . ;

    So if you chose an underscore as last char of a word, it will be compiled ok but it will not work when compiled or interpreted.

  • That's been added to version 53.

  • Hi Bob,
    There doesn't seem to be a link I can find to download the latest Taqoz Reloaded v2.8 glossary?
    I've tried the forum search function, but the returned posts don't seem to have a reference to the latest glossary link.
    Can you advise please?
    Pete

  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366

    @Peter_F said:
    Hi Bob,
    There doesn't seem to be a link I can find to download the latest Taqoz Reloaded v2.8 glossary?
    I've tried the forum search function, but the returned posts don't seem to have a reference to the latest glossary link.
    Can you advise please?
    Pete

    The first post has the updated document.

  • Hi Publison, found it. Sorry! - senior moment! Many thanks.
    https://forums.parallax.com/discussion/173302/taqoz-reloaded-v2-8-word-glossary/p1

  • bob_g4bbybob_g4bby Posts: 346
    edited 2022-04-17 13:41

    I've added some words about memory requirements and limitations in the STACK section of version 58. Taqoz actually uses 5 stacks, although the programmer is only aware of 3 of them. They are mostly located in LUT memory, but the top values of the data and loop stacks are in COG memory.

  • bob_g4bbybob_g4bby Posts: 346
    edited 2022-04-20 10:35

    I've just worked out how TIMEOUT, TIMEOUT? and UNTIL? work and included that information in version 59.

    6 bytes TIME1                           --- storage for a timeout - (a double variable would do as well, but 6 bytes only are actually required)
    1000 TIME1 TIMEOUT                      --- start a timeout of 1000 ms, stored at TIME1
    TIME1 TIMEOUT? .                        --- we check whether TIME1 has timed out yet - would return 0 (false) if no time out yet
    2000 ms TIME1 TIMEOUT? .                --- we check again, after a delay of 2s - TIMEOUT? returns -1 (true) if timeout has passed
    
    3000 TIME1 TIMEOUT                      --- somewhere in a program we start a 3000 ms timeout and elsewhere we can program ...
    TIME1 ?UNTIL                            --- ?UNTIL will only finish executing once timeout has occurred
    
  • @bob_g4bby said:
    I've added some words about memory requirements and limitations in the STACK section of version 58. Taqoz actually uses 5 stacks, although the programmer is only aware of 3 of them. They are mostly located in LUT memory, but the top values of the data and loop stacks are in COG memory.

    Thanks, Bob, for this!

    I think I will try, if LUT! can make my value-type variables (and then locals?) faster. I would need 2 "cog" variables. I have not yet found a position regarding LUT memory. Is it worth to save it for ??? or should I just use it for the locals frame stack?

  • RossHRossH Posts: 4,920

    Like others here, I have had many problems with SD cards on the P2. The P2 Evaluation boards I have are all finicky. Also, there are differences between the RevA boards and the RevB boards. I do not have a RevC board, so I don't know if this version works better.

    As others have reported, successfully booting the P2 from an SD Card seems to depend on both the brand and the size of card. SanDisk cards seem to work most reliably, Verbatim cards often won't boot at all, or will boot once but then require a power cycle or physical removal and re-insertion before they will boot again. I have some cards that will boot reliably from either a hardware or a software reset, some cards that will boot from a hardware reset but not from a software reset, and some cards that will not boot at all. All the cards seem to work perfectly well in other devices.

    If anyone has any PASM code that can reliably reboot the P2 from the SD card, and which works for a variety of SD card brands and sizes, please post it.

    Ross.

Sign In or Register to comment.