Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Home Assistant / MQTT use by our forum members? — Parallax Forums

Home Assistant / MQTT use by our forum members?

I use Home Assistant (an open-source project) for monitoring and controlling various devices in my home.

Does anybody here in the forums use this as well? I'm asking as I'm thinking about some form of MQTT support for our P2's...

Would this be useful at all?

Comments

• I think this will be really important to have at some point.

You're probably ahead of the pack once again Stephen!

• ColeyColey Posts: 1,108

Yeah I use HA at home with MQTT and also in my work with MQTT using the Mosquito broker.

It's very versaltile and is become very widespread now.

My background is electronic security systems and some IP CCTV cameras even have MQTT built in for sending video analytics metadata and for activating different operating modes.

• VonSzarvasVonSzarvas Posts: 3,273
    edited 2022-01-04 15:49

Another vote from me !

Good memories of an Erlang server with MQTT I used to run for asset tracking; really simple efficient and scalable system- feels an ideal match for Propeller ! If you need help with getting an MQTT broker server online, I could help with that. Never heard of HA, but will read about it soon. Sounds like something I'd like :)

• Stephen MoracoStephen Moraco Posts: 300
    edited 2022-01-04 21:38

@Coley @Tubular @VonSzarvas Thanks for your responses.
    This gives me ideas of what to do in upcoming projects.

@Coley if you have any RPi's (or Omega2's) check out these links:
    RPi/Omega2 Monitor Card
    RPi Reporter Daemon
    Omega2 Reporter Daemon

(Other things I do with my time... ;-)

• Hi,