Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Getting Started With the Nextion HMI — Parallax Forums

Getting Started With the Nextion HMI

JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,918
edited 2021-12-08 20:42 in Propeller 2

Life has been very busy lately, but I was happy when Ken reached out and asked if I would jump back to do P2 presentations. You've probably seen the announcements, but we're going to do this over a 3-week period in December. This will be a review of P2 programming in Spin, and we'll work with the some specific hardware.

Information and registration link can be found here:
-- https://www.parallax.com/touch-screen-holiday-lighting-control-project-with-jonnymac-live-coding-and-building/

Q: What if I'm new to the P2?
A: No worries! We'll move slowly and make sure that nobody is left behind.

Week 1: The Nextion HMI -- Programming the 9th Cog
Week 2: Reviewing protocols: Async Serial, I2C, "Smart" LEDs
Week 3: Bringing it all together with a simple touch-screen lighting controller

Ken is creating kits to simplify ordering. It would be useful to have essential prototyping parts, too -- things like pots, resistors, buttons, LEDs, etc.

My goal for the first session is to save you hours of watching videos on YouTube (unless you want to). There are a few folks out there providing reasonable information about using the Nextion, but most online tutorials are for the Schmarschmino, not the Propeller. That said, by big ego thinks that once you've sat through my session, you'll understand how to lift good ideas from projects using other processors for your own.

The Nextion requires a bit of programming, but it's not difficult. Like any other coding, though, planning is really important. The scripting language used looks a bit like C, but doesn't follow all of C's rules nor syntax. It's a simplification, which means for some things we have to do a bit of work. By working through some examples together, you'll get the hang of it.