Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New to forums & 16 segment LED displays question — Parallax Forums

New to forums & 16 segment LED displays question

Hello, new to the forums. My real name is Nick and my internet names are Ludis or MachoManRandySavage (because his character is so funny!!).

My profession is an engineer in mechanical and nuclear fields. I work in control systems and do computer simulations with discrete equations. I do not have any involvement in the I&C hardware. I like to hobby in electronics and always wanted to learn microcontrollers. I understand basic circuits but I am a novice at microcontrollers and the propeller chip. I have a P1 and professional development board I bought a long time ago but only flashed some LEDs. I also ordered a P2 and the JohnnyMac development board.

I am studying the P1 language and looking to start my first project.

Thanks to Ken, Carol, and JonnyMac for answering my questions during the P2 forums.

The P1 professional development board has 6 11 segment LEDs AND a RTC for time and date. For my first project i'd like to display time and date using the P1, RTC, and 11 segment LEDS

QUESTION 1:
What is the easiest configuration to drive 11 segment LEDS? I am finding people use specific IC chips. The P1 could communicate with the IC chips and the IC chips would drive the LEDs.
Which option is the best?
1) Plug 11 segment LEDs to the output pins of the P1 chip and write P1 code to drive the outputs high/low? My guess is that there is not enough power or current to drive all the LEDs?
2) Buy an IC chip that is specifically for controlling 11 segment LEDS that connects to an external power source? What chip do you recommend?
3) other option

QUESTION 2:
I could not find a data sheet for the 3291AB 11 segment LED on the Propeller Professional Development Board. What is the principal behind driving the 11 segment LEDs? Any suggested reading material?