Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Assembly debug — Parallax Forums

Assembly debug

BobbyVBobbyV Posts: 19
edited 2011-02-16 16:54 in Propeller 1
Hello All,

I'm new to assembly and I am stumped on a problem I'm having! I'm trying to write a bare-bones spi routine for and ADC (AD7323) a I believe the problem is with the program not looping. What has me really confused is that when I debug the program with PSAD and just let it run without breakpoints, the routine seems to work just fine (I checked the chip's data output, and the clock signal going into the chip with an oscilloscope and I see consistent, regular pin activity). However, when I run it without PSAD, I only see a very quick pulse on scope and then no pin activity which has led me to think that the program ran through the code but did not loop.

I'm guessing there's some bone-headed thing I'm missing here that more experienced eyes will catch!
Thanks for the help,

Here's my assembly code in an object that I writing:
''
''      ASSEMBLY SHIFT IN PROTOTYPE
''               FOR AD7323
''                VER. 1
''           Robert Valtierra
''             FEB. 13 2011
''
VAR
        long     Cog

PUB START(SAMPLE)

Cog := cognew(@entry, @SAMPLE) + 1

PUB STOP

if Cog
    cogstop(Cog~ -  1)

DAT

org     0
entry

mov     Addr, par               ' Copy "Sample" address to Addr
                        muxnz   dira,DAT_CLK            ' Configure DAT_CLK and CS as outputs (1)
                        muxnz   dira,CS 
                        muxnz   outa,CS          
                        muxnz   outa,DAT_Clk            ' Set DAT_Clk and CS initially high

SHIFT_IN                mov     count,N_Bits            ' Set counter to number of sample bits
                        muxz    outa,CS

SHIFT_LOOP              test    D_in,ina         wc     ' Test if data pin is high or low, write carry if high
                        rcl     TEMP1,#1                ' Shift in carry flag one to the left