Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LLVM Backend for Propeller 2 — Parallax Forums

LLVM Backend for Propeller 2

n_ermoshn_ermosh Posts: 290
edited 2021-12-16 20:24 in C/C++
TL;DR: I want a modern C/C++ toolchain for Propeller 2 that compiles to native instructions directly, so I made one, on the shoulders of giants. It lives here: https://github.com/ne75/p2llvm

First things first that I think is important: I'm not a computer scientist and I've never studied compilers. I'm just an eager EE who really likes Propeller (and Propeller 2!). I've probably done some dumb things in this project. If I did, let me know, I want to learn.

Second things second, the immediate question I'm sure everyone will have is: "Why are you writing another compiler for Propeller 2?" I will answer that with a bit of a rant.

<rant>