Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Universal IR Decoding — Parallax Forums

Universal IR Decoding

Greetings!

I am new to Parallax and the Propeller but A friend recommended it for a project I am building. It is very similar to the remote controlled LED strips you can buy anywhere nowadays. Small 24 button remote to control colors and behaviors of RGB LEDs. Based on what I see I believe the propeller can handle the logic needed to control the LEDs I have. However, in all my searches I cannot find much relevant and recent information about modules to do the IR decoding of a remote. Yes, I found something for a sony remote. But, I will be using a random remote from some unknown manufacturer. I have the ability to read and decode the IR codes on my Raspberry Pi, so I know the code for each button, but I need to know if this propeller has easy to use module for this. I normally program in Python but I suppose i'd be learning Spin for this project.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Sean

Comments

• You might want to take a trip over to the Object Exchange at: http://obex.parallax.com.

Would something like this work for you? http://obex.parallax.com/object/290

A search on “IR” in the OBEX brings up several possibilities.
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2019-09-14 21:45
    Welcome to the forum, Sean!

First, are you sure it's an IR remote? I have two remotely-controlled LED systems, and both remotes use RF, not IR.

-Phil
  • @JRoark - I'll take a look. I have no idea if that would work for me. How would one know unless they experiment? Perhaps someone else has experience with it?

@"Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)" - Thanks!! I'm always happy to find a healthy community of people willing to help. Yes, I am planning to use IR. The LED strip I have at home uses IR. Though I am aware an RF version also exists.