Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller for Guitar Effects? — Parallax Forums

Propeller for Guitar Effects?

Mark BuckinghamMark Buckingham Posts: 4
edited 2008-02-25 19:24 in Propeller 1
I'm a guitarist, computer programmer, and part-time burner of fingers via a soldering iron.

I'm basically hoping to design & build a guitar multi-effects processor, and I'm wondering if the propeller has enough horsepower to pull it off...

I think I need the following:
16 or 24 bit A/D and D/A conversion
ability to process at least 3 effects at a time from the following:
--> echo
--> chorus (combines original signal with one that is slightly in & out of tune)
--> flanger (more or less same thing as chorus, but with different timing)
--> pitch shifting (take the input note and move it up or down by +/- 12 notes)
--> reverb
front panel controls to control the effects
ability to save combinations of effects & settings as patches
(maybe) midi control
stereo output is a plus, but not a deal breaker.

I don't need anything like distortion or amp modelling. That's part of why I want to do this myself... Most of the units on the market try to do too much.

the effects have to have very little latency... When I play a note, it has to come out without a noticeable delay.

Does this sound like something that the propeller can pull off?

Thanks!

Comments

• grasshoppergrasshopper Posts: 438
    edited 2007-11-21 17:59
    I am also a guitar player, so this got my attention

I think it should be able to do what you are listing. How do you intend to pull it off? have you seen what the propeller can do as far as sound? I got mine to sing and speak using the available codes.
  • Mark BuckinghamMark Buckingham Posts: 4
    edited 2007-11-21 18:12
    grasshopper said...

I am also a guitar player, so this got my attention