Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller & TLC5940 help needed - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

Propeller & TLC5940 help needed

2»

Comments

• Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
    edited 2007-10-05 01:13
    I got to multiplex them, I can control 256 LED's with just two TLC's. (16x16) 1 TLC is for ROW addr, & 1 TLC is for COL addr

Only one LED is ever on at a time over a 1sq. ft. area @ 72 Hz (768 LED's total on a 19mm DOT pitch matrix) 3 TLC's per sq. ft.

-Areal

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I have a tree growing out of my head, but

what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.
  • BTXBTX Posts: 674
    edited 2007-10-05 01:25
    Great Areal !!!!! You got it !!!
    Sorry I was out all day today...and tomorrow and so on, again. So I can read the forum in nights.

You need to read very carrefully the datasheet of the TLC (like Fred said you before), also take a look at the schematic of the TLC evaluation board.

You also need to understand my TLC's code...it is not difficult to understand what I did there...then, you will know ..How I'm controlling it.

Data is sent in serial mode to the first TLC, then the next TLC's will be recieving the data while you continue to sending data to the first TLC.

I used GSCLK, XLAT, and BLANK in parallel for all the TLC's, I also used one TLC for R, one for G, and one for B, and the next three, and the next, and so on... you can use maximun 40 TLC in cascade mode, therefore 120 TLC's for the complete RGB in 16*40 RGB pixeles.

I suggest you to think before dream in all this... in consider strongly the final speed of the data that you'll send to the TLC's....maybe one propeller will not be able to controll such quantity of TLC's, and you also must consider, that 40 TLC's in serial mode, will take a very long wire distances between the first and the 40th, to connect them without any special care in that.