Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How many beginners would like to see a Beginners Sub Section? - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

How many beginners would like to see a Beginners Sub Section?

2»

Comments

• RinksCustomsRinksCustoms Posts: 531
    edited 2007-08-09 07:07
    Mightor said...
    I've decided to put my money where my mouth is and start digging around for simple recipes to hook up the following devices to a Prop:

(All are the Parallax sensors as sold on their website)
    * Compass module
    * Digital wheel encoders
    * 2D Tilt meter
    * PING))) and Servo
    * QTI line sensors

Hopefully the recipes can be added to Oldbitcollector's Prop Cookbook. It may take some time to do all this as I am still learning SPIN atm.

Gr,
    Mightor
    ~ This is not directed at any one person~
    well for one thing, i know alot of you just hop-skip and jump to the tutorial on the spin language and miss the part about the manual being geared toward previous microcontroller expierience. Grant it i only tooled around with the BS2 for about a year before hopping on the prop, that lack of experience may have helped me in learning the prop better and faster, it still took a few months to get the swing of parallel proccessing into the veins. and i think Mr M. Mims hasn't produced a book yet on the prop, being only about a yr old now.
    I tell you what though, those Forest Mims mini engineer notebooks really self taught me alot about electronics and digital, as well as my investment into Multisim (bye-bye breadboard!)·but discovering that i could take and write about 20 min of code to do what took me hours of breadboarding IC's was a godsend and worth any learning curve!