Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Vinculum VMUSIC2 connections to BS2 — Parallax Forums

Vinculum VMUSIC2 connections to BS2

uxoriousuxorious Posts: 126
edited 2010-08-05 18:41 in BASIC Stamp
I am a newbie to the Basic Stamp but have been involved in electronics for a long time. (My first basic programming was on a TRS-80 in junior high and I have been in PCB Mfg since '91). In the last month or so I have obtained a homework board, professional development board, a BS2, a text to speech module, a VMUSIC2 module, and various other parts. I have several Stamp projects on my plate, but one in particular is giving me trouble (due to my lack of Stamp experience). Here are the details:

My daughter has a Power Wheels Mustang GT and since we have a year or so before she can reach the pedals, I have come up with several mods I would like to do to it. Some are simple like adding working headlights, tailights, remote kill, etc. One mod consists of rewiring the two buttons and speaker on the existing "radio" to be used with a Basic Stamp and Vinculum's VMUSIC2 USB/MP3 module. See http://www.vinculum.com/prd_vmusic1.html#vmusic2

The VMUSIC2 has UART connections of GND, RTS#, 5V, RXD, TXD, and CTS#. I am having trouble interfacing this with the BS2. I have searched several posts, but nothing gave me a standard answer for connecting a BS2 to a serial UART. Most are specific to a particular project. However, from the posts, I believe I should be using a MAX232? Any ideas and or tips as to properly interfacing between my BS2 and the VMUSIC2 would be greatly appreciated. I know you can connect the VMUSIC2 to a PC via USB using the USB-TTL cable from Vinculum ( http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/EvaluationKits/TTL-232R-3V3.htm ). Aren't the outputs of the BS2 at TTL level?

thanks,
Dru-

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-04-12 16:13