Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What would you want more of, cogs or RAM? - Page 26 — Parallax Forums

What would you want more of, cogs or RAM?

Comments

• Carl HayesCarl Hayes Posts: 841
    edited 2008-12-15 01:40
    I guess I'm Tail-End Charlie here.· Are those the only choices for enhancement, more Cogs or more RAM?· I'd like both, but there are other things equally important, or perhaps more important:

(1) a way to execute assembler language directly from shared memory.· I'm very new to the Propeller, though very experienced in assembler on other machines from building-fillers to pinhead-size.· Having to copy a program to a Cog's private memory in order to execute it (as seems necessary for Assembler in the Propeller) seems simply a waste.· But perhaps my understanding of the Propeller·is not yet perfect.

(2) a way to write reentrant code in assembler.· In any multiprocessing (or even merely multiprogramming) environment, reentrancy is essential -- especially if memory is limited.· Why make it necessary to have a separate copy of any subroutine one wishes to use?· Instead, it should be possible (as it is on almost any other multiprogramming system) to write a subroutine in such a way that multiple threads can use it with true simultaneity, without either making a separate copy or queueing up for sequential reuse of the code.· Currently this is precluded by (among other things) the way CALL stores a return address.· In the general world of computing, that method was wisely abandoned many decades ago.

If (1) and (2) were both possible, the Spin interpreter could be made reentrant and could be executed directly from ROM;·perhaps there wouldn't be any reason for Cog memory at all.· Memory could be flat, and assembler·programs could be much larger.· Also, of course, this would eliminate the waste from putting small programs in fixed-size memories per Cog.·