Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Pollmode question — Parallax Forums

Pollmode question

Bob - FremontBob - Fremont Posts: 11
edited 2006-06-29 18:34 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to the Basic Stamp but am moving right along.· I have a question about the Pollmode command.· The documentation is somewhat confusing.

I am monitoring four (4) switches (bits 4,5,6 & 7) and need to keep track of which switch event occured last.· The switches will not be on for very long so It seems that Polling is the way to go.· I will periodically read the value in memory location 128 to find out which switch was last pressed.· Regarding the Pollmode, which mode should I use to keep memory location 128 constantlyy updated as the switch events occur.· In other words, do not disable Polling until I intentionally issue a Pollmode 0 command later in the program.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

·

Comments

• Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,658
    edited 2006-06-27 22:20
    POLLMODE 10 will cause location 128 to latch POLLIN switch events, even brief events,so long as they span two PPBASIC instructions. But it won't tell you the order of occurance. The program might find from scatchpad location 128 that switch p4 and p7 have both been pressed in the past 2 seconds, but not which came first. To sort that out, the program will need to read the inputs more rapidly What are typical timing values for your application?

Here is an essay on POLLING: www.emesys.com/BS2poll.htm

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tracy Allen
    www.emesystems.com
  • Bob - FremontBob - Fremont Posts: 11
    edited 2006-06-27 23:46
    Hi Tracy,