Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need SERIN parsing help — Parallax Forums

Need SERIN parsing help

EnginerdEnginerd Posts: 3
edited 2006-01-30 23:56 in BASIC Stamp
I am a fairly new BSII programmer and am trying to get a simple program to interface with a LabVIEW program I have written. The LabVIEW prog outputs a string to the com port without a problem (I can·get the correct string from the·BSII Debug window).

I have two 3-digit numbers I want to put into variables in the BSII. The string being sent is "P123T456" where 123 is the data I want in variable "Pan" and 456 into "Tilt"

The command I use to parse is:

Pan VAR Word
Tilt VAR Word

SERIN 0,84,[noparse][[/noparse]WAIT("P"), DEC3 Pan, DEC3 Tilt]

My variable Tilt is always the same as Pan.

I get the same results with the following:
SERIN 0,84,[noparse][[/noparse]WAIT("P"), DEC3 Pan, WAIT("T"), DEC3 Tilt]

What could I be doing wrong? Or is this not a good way to exchange data between the BSII and computer.

Your input is greatly appreciated,

Marc

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2006-01-28 01:17
    What does the stream into the BASIC Stamp look like? Are you actually getting three digits per value, i.e. P020T005? If the pan and tilt values are not a fixed width, change DEC3 to DEC -- that will work fine in either case. The only time you need to use something like DEC3 is when you have fixed-width fields that are run together without any separating characters.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • EnginerdEnginerd Posts: 3
    edited 2006-01-28 01:42
    My values are always 3 digits - the stream looks like: "P001T002". I have tried DEC and DEC3 with the same results. I am using Basic Stamp Editor v2.2.5 with a Basic Stamp 2 v1.0.

What else could be causing my two variable to be the same. I have tried renaming them. Is there a better way to parse the data?

Thank-you for your help.
    edited 2006-01-28 01:54