Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Parallax LCD Display #27977 not working ... — Parallax Forums

Parallax LCD Display #27977 not working ...

OLIEOLIE Posts: 3
edited 2006-01-03 02:00 in BASIC Stamp
Dear staff @ Parallax
Dear Basic-Stamp enthusiast

I purchased a Display #27977 from a local retailer.

I have some experience with Parallax products, but this is actually my first time that I connected a LCD.
Apparantly, and according to the user's documentation, connection should be quite easy to do: you connect Vdd (5V) and Vss (ground). So, this was done and also the test display worked and came on ("Parallax" appears, and the backlight is on). So far, so good.

But then you have to attach the wire from the "RX"-pin of the LCD to some of the 16 pins of the basic stamp
(lets say pin 0) and select the proper baud-rate (let's say 19'200) and set the dip-switch accordingly. I did that too.

What I had then, was the cursor waiting at the first position of the display. Still: so far so good.

But then when I entered the following sample code and tried to run this software, the cursor just stays in position and it doesn't write ! Despite the connection being ok, the cable downloads the software to the
stamp, my computer monitor-screen debugs "TEST", but there is no writing on the LCD ! Nothing at all happens, I also tried to activate the backlight with a command.

Can you help ? Is the LCD damaged and shall I get a new one from the Parallax-distributor ?

Here is the sample code from the manual:

'{$STAMP BS2}

Debug "TEST"

TxPin CON 0

Baud19200 CON 32

HIGH TxPin

PAUSE 100

SEROUT TxPin, Baud19200, [noparse][[/noparse]"Hello, this text will wrap."]

End

Thanks·a lot for your support

OLIE

·

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2006-01-01 16:29