Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What are the actual clock specifications of the P2? — Parallax Forums

What are the actual clock specifications of the P2?

So I'm pretty new to the propeller 2 and struggling a bit with the documentation.

I'm specifically unsure about the supported/intended clock speeds of the chip, as I need it to be as fast as possible while still being stable.

For example in the hardware manual (web documentation 2022-11-01) it states in the table on page 26 "The VCO frequency should be kept within 100 MHz to 350 MHz" but on page 27 it states "The PLL's VCO is designed to run between 100 MHz and 200 MHz and should be kept within that range".

I'm probably missing something here, but to me those two statements contradict each other.

I also managed to accidentally run my eval board at 400 MHz before (calculated the clock settings wrong).

So the question is: How fast can it actually go RELIABLY?

Comments

• The answer is basically "it depends".

• 180MHz was the original design spec, but it turns out it can go way faster
    • Max stable speed at room temperature depends on thermal design, between 300 and 350MHz. (if in doubt, add a small fan)
    • VCO limit is around 360 MHz, setting it to go any faster will cap here.
  • So the only "hard" number available is the 180 MHz and anything above is up to the silicon lottery?

That'll make things interesting for my project, as reliability is critical and the thermal environment could become challenging. That won't leave many instructions as I need to process some incoming data every 320ns.

Seems I have gotten really lucky though with my eval board as the accidentally configured 400 MHz seemed to be stable for several minutes before I realized why exactly my serial data was messed up beyond recognition.

• RaymanRayman Posts: 14,409

Getting to 300 MHz reliably is pretty easy, even with 2 layer board.
    Might want to stick with Parallax designs if need reliable operation at 350 MHz...