Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Spinner Edge board — Parallax Forums

Spinner Edge board

ke4pjwke4pjw Posts: 1,065
edited 2024-01-30 03:14 in Propeller 2

So I decided to make an attempt at a standalone Ethernet board based on the Wiznet W6100L. I had to jump through hoops so that the pins align with my light controller board. That's why tracks do not take the shortest path. This is also my first project in KiCad.

Please throw rocks at it, as I have limited experience with board layout. I don't feel good about all of the vias, but that seems to be the most practical way to cross traces.

Comments

• You need a big notch between the pin headers to properly clear the ground posts. See Ray's RAM expander:

The official Parallax double boards have them, too, but I had the 96MB board image at hand to illustrate.

• If you stick with the unplated hold to accommodate the ground posts, make sure it's big enough. The lugs on my Rev B and Rev C Eval boards are 0.145" (3.7mm) in diameter. The ground posts on the Edge breadboard are only 2.4mm.

• roglohrogloh Posts: 5,122
    edited 2023-02-27 02:32

@ke4pjw
    LOL, I was thinking about doing a Wiznet board too in my next group of PCBs, but haven't yet got to it (though mine would be SPI only with the W5500 most likely).