Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
When was the P2 released? - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

When was the P2 released?

2»

Comments

• samuellsamuell Posts: 554
    edited 2021-06-11 22:35

@msrobots said:
    FlexGui is a simple IDE using QT and can compile C, Basic and Spin on linux, windows, mac.

You can mix languages and use objects fro any of them in any other of them.

youtube video here

Enjoy!

Mike

Thanks! Where can I find FlexGUI for Linux? I can only find FlexProp for Windows.

• On Linux you need to build from source.

• @samuell said:

@ersmith said:

@samuell said:
    Is there any GUI for FlexC? I guess I could build a GUI frontend based on Qt. It is nothing that I'm not experienced with. Basically, input a file path, some parameters, and the GUI would run the commands. I would need to know what steps to do, though.

FlexProp is the "native" GUI for FlexC. Someone (I think @pullmoll ) has done a Qt version of FlexProp. There's also Visual Studio Code, which @"Stephen Moraco" has configured for Spin support... not sure if that works for BASIC and C as well, but there's no reason it couldn't.

I need a solution that works on Linux. So, I guess that I'll make one. The commands already exist, and a GUI that invokes them is a simple task.

@samuell VScode (free) installs natively on Linux, VScode invokes the Flex Compiler (free) so you can edit any of the languages that Flex compiler supports in the VSCode IDE, all the languages have syntax/semantic highlighting. Wouldn't this work? What would be missing that you need?

• AribaAriba Posts: 2,682

@samuell said:
    Thanks! Where can I find FlexGUI for Linux? I can only find FlexProp for Windows.

FlexProp is the new name for FlexGUI. In Eric's Signature is a link to the Github releases. For Linux you only get the sources which you need to be compile yourself. For Windows there is an prebuilt EXE.

Here the link again:
    https://github.com/totalspectrum/flexprop/releases

• @samuell said: