Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie Activity Bot Start Up Problem... — Parallax Forums

Newbie Activity Bot Start Up Problem...

hoela4075hoela4075 Posts: 16
edited 2014-05-12 13:58 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I am new to the BOE Bot and Activity Bot; but I have a better understanding of the BOE Bot than the Activity Bot. I tried out the Activity Bot tonight and was faced with a game stopping issue. When I try to calibrate the servos and encoders, I get a red error that states that the building is done, but the program won't run. I have updated to the most recent library and not sure what the problem is...any help is appreciated!:smile:

Comments

• hoela4075hoela4075 Posts: 16
    edited 2014-05-03 23:50
    I am trying to post the error here, but this forum won't let me. I can't even hit "enter" when entering posts, to start a line of text one line down in the paragraph. The Error is not a hard error...but "error: opening serial port". What is that?!?!
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-05-04 02:22
    hoela4075 wrote: »
    I am trying to post the error here, but this forum won't let me. I can't even hit "enter" when entering posts, to start a line of text one line down in the paragraph. The Error is not a hard error...but "error: opening serial port". What is that?!?!

Be sure to check the COM Port, (upper right), is set to the COM port of you BOT. I believe Simple IDE do not do an auto check for the COM Port yet, and defaults to COM1
  • Steph LindsaySteph Lindsay Posts: 767
    edited 2014-05-05 09:15
    Hi hoela4075,

Hmm, let's see. 2 Questions to start:

1. If you are following through the ActivityBot tutorial, it sent you over to Set Up SimpleIDE at some point. When you set up the software, were you able to confirm the programming connection with the Hello program, as shown here? http://learn.parallax.com/propeller-c-set-simpleide/windows