Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
The New 16-Cog, 512KB, 64 analog I/O Propeller Chip - Page 84 — Parallax Forums

The New 16-Cog, 512KB, 64 analog I/O Propeller Chip

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    edited 2015-04-03 18:58
    User Name wrote: »
    Interesting you say this. While the IBM PC was in its infancy I was a young engineer working at an IBM facility that still produced "boat anchor technology" (my term at the time for it). Every time I walked through huge buildings full of that stuff I wondered how many months it would be before most of the company collapsed. It actually took many years - I failed to appreciate the inertia involved. Meanwhile, corporate management failed to appreciate the ultimate size of the monster a few employees were nurturing down in Florida.

IBM was lucky to have a huge cash reserve and tons of equipment on long term leases. Even so it was a close thing.
  • davidsaundersdavidsaunders Posts: 1,559
    edited 2015-04-03 19:39
    evanh wrote: »
    The way to interpret such attitudes is from the market investment and applications. All the big R&D was in much more expensive equipment. And the software to run on the bigger stuff was totally out of the PC's league both in terms requirements and price.

Of course those commentators didn't foresee, nor wanted to look for, such a massive, and required, evolution of the PC platform to what would make it a viable "workstation" and "server" solution. After all, it did take mind bogglingly huge amounts of money to get there. Intel pretty much wiped the deck clear in the process. AMD will be maintained only to prevent anti-competitive charges.

It's the nature of the free market to form monopolies.