Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Alternative Open Propeller Project #1: Android to Propeller BOE — Parallax Forums

Alternative Open Propeller Project #1: Android to Propeller BOE

John AbshierJohn Abshier Posts: 1,116
edited 2014-03-06 11:32 in Robotics
I don't, won't, buy Apple. Not sure what I would do if given one. So this project will be Android to Propeller.

A little background about my strengths and many more weaknesses. A little over 50 years ago I started programming in FORTRAN with card on an IBM 1401. I did a little FORTRAN programming while getting an Aerospace Engineering degree in the late 1960's. Then I too a little over a decade off from programming to shoot cannons and fly helicopters. I then became an Operations Research Analyst, getting a MS in Computer Science with an emphasis in Operations Research. I have never been a professional programmer, but have programmed to do my job and also as a hobby (mainly robotics). In one organization we couldn't even admit to programming since that was reserved for the Directorate of Management Information Systems. I have programmed in various FORTRANs, BASICs, Pascal, PL/I, GPSS H, Simscript II.5, Java, Dynamo, C, AWK, Python, RCA machine language (hand assembled), IBM 360 assembler, and, of course, Spin and PASM. Also, although some may not consider them programming languages, SAS, SQL, Lotus 123, and Excel. I wonder if anyone recognizes all those languages without Google. Network programming experience: none, nada, zilch. Android programming experience: see network programming.

On the Prop side I will be using a BOE, because that is what I have. It should generalize to the Activity Bot. I will use Spin. I know it and Spin will save the time of learning the Prop specific idioms of C for the Prop.

Connection between Android devices and the Prop will be by a Digi XBee S6B. Bluetooth would be another option. A hard wired USB connection looks to be feasible but harder than I want to attack.