Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
"You Really Should Upgrade to the Prop" - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

"You Really Should Upgrade to the Prop"

2»

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2011-10-19 00:28
    Amen Phil!

I got into microcontrollers about four years (wait let be check my profile), no that was three and a half years ago. I was clueless about what microcontroller to get. I purchased both Basic Stamps and the Propeller. I started with the Stamp. I even purchased the "Stamp Collection". Once I started learning to use the Propeller, I didn't see any reason to go back to the Stamps. They're more expensive and can do a lot, lot, lot less.

I subscribe to several robot and electronics magazines. I frequently see articles were the author wanted to add some feature to his robot but it made the servo start to jitter (or some other problem) because it messed up the timing in the main loop. It get exasperated seeing people torture themselves with a single core controller.

I agree completely with erco's cry "You Really Should Upgrade to the Prop".

(As long as there are hornets flying around anyway.)

Duane
  • GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2011-10-19 02:17
    Somewhere... in the morass of old manuals, shelves with ancient computers, prehistoric games(on 3.5" diskettes), probably close to where my OS/2 computer stands, I have a box containing a BS2p, an LCD, and a whole slew of DalSemi 1-wire buttons. All in all a nearly complete central locking system for my car. It can read the 1-Wire buttons, open and lock doors, check door-sensors, and I think I was well into implementing an ice-warning system. I had plans to add 'auto adjusted' mirrors based on whose 1-Wire button was used to unlock, too.
    (It got shelved when my old car was crushed by a 6WD dump-truck)

Not once did I run into a memory problem...