Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller Assembly for beginners — Parallax Forums

Propeller Assembly for beginners

HarpritHarprit Posts: 539
edited 2014-09-15 10:33 in Propeller 1
After total frustration in getting things done really fast in Spin, which I'm not very good at, I have decided to learn Assembly Language for the Propeller and to write a book about it as I go along, as I did for the Beginners Book. Maybe that will help me and others.

Its going to take a while in that, for me, the going is slow. I don't know a thing about it right now and I've been at it for quite a while! Meaning that I still cannot write anything but the shortest of programs.

I solicit advise as to where I might learn more about this. I have read the Prop Manual umpteen times so I need more than that. I also need to understand binary manipulations better and was unable to find a suitable book on Amazon.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Please keep in mind my "knows little of nothing" status.

Thanks
Harprit.

Comments

• ericballericball Posts: 774
    edited 2011-07-13 09:34
    If you have no experience programming in assembly language, then it's going to take some time to get the hang of it. The biggest difference between ASM and high level languages (like SPIN) is everything in ASM is a small step. You have to break down each task into a list of single operations.

It also helps to have a "bottom up" programming style. You first break down your objective into tasks, then start with the most repeated / time-sensitive task and program that as efficiently as possible. Then structure all other tasks to feed data to the "core" task.

With ASM the lines between data types also get blurred. There's no type checking. Whether a given 32-bit value is signed or unsigned; integer, fixed-point, float or character(s) (or even code) can change as required. While some opcodes might "prefer" one or the other, you can "bend the rules" as necessary.