Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Scrolling Text Using MAX7219 to Drive 7 Segment LED Displays — Parallax Forums

Scrolling Text Using MAX7219 to Drive 7 Segment LED Displays

CDPCDP Posts: 5
edited 2011-05-05 23:50 in BASIC Stamp
I am very new and very apprehensive about posting on a forum. I have seen some pretty angry responses to posts. I hope I can be clear enough in what I am working on and my question to elicit a kind and helpful response.

I am an artist working to gain control of the LED and sound output of an alarm clock. I hope to generate scrolling text messages across the face of the alarm clock.

I am using the Basic Stamp and MAX7219 IC to drive 4-6 7 segment LED displays with pbasic code. I am currently hung up on finding and altering the code to scroll the text. I went through the lessons on single 7 seg displays and successfully programed the alphabet. I then graduated to 4 7 seg displays using code for a change counter (the pdf with code I am referencing is attached) and I am still working to understand how it functions so i may change the code to create scrolling text. Today I found another pdf with information about avr firmware (see attachment) but I am not sure if this is something I can use with pbasic and basic stamp, but it appears to be just what I am looking for.

If someone could point me in the right direction to find code for scrolling text on a 7 seg LED display or advice in reference to the avr firmware, I would really appreciate it.

sw29.pdf
avr_7seg1_doc.pdf

Comments

• TomatoTomato Posts: 23
    edited 2011-02-14 20:31
    Just a suggestion, maybe you want to use 14-seg displays. You could make much clearer letters. I guess you need some kind of muxing though, for the extra bits.

-Tomato
  • CDPCDP Posts: 5
    edited 2011-02-15 11:23
    Thanks for the suggestion Tomato. I agree the 14 seg displays would give me clearer letters.
    I am planning to graduate to 14 seg displays after I figure out coding the 7 seg displays.