Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Detecting Frequency w/ PBasic Stamp — Parallax Forums

Detecting Frequency w/ PBasic Stamp

AusticAustic Posts: 2
edited 2010-10-28 06:06 in BASIC Stamp
Hey guys, I'm a student at Louisiana Tech and I'm looking for some help on one of my engineering projects. My project involves using the Board of Education with the PBasic stamp to detect the frequency of a guitar/bass and have an LED light up based on a specific note played. The method I tried was to use the pulscount command to try to capture the time that the note played would remain over the voltage threshold (which is what the count command measures), but I cannot find a specific pattern to use for a note. Is there a way I can measure frequency via patch cable in a guitar or bass?

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-10-26 08:13
    "Is there a way I can measure frequency via patch cable in a guitar or bass?"

Well, sort of. You can measure frequency using the COUNT statement, but you need pulses that cross the 0->1 voltage threshold of the Stamp. What's available from the guitar pickup? I doubt that the pickup produces what you need. There are a lot of harmonics in any signal from a stringed instrument. What are you going to do about those? The COUNT statement will count the signal transitions of the harmonics too. Have you looked at the signal using a 'scope?
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-10-26 08:18
    If you find the guitar signal has too many harmonics, try producing a note by lightly touching the string at the 12th fret. This creates a bell like tone that is more "pure".

Bean
  • davejamesdavejames Posts: 4,047
    edited 2010-10-26 09:05
    Austic,

Both Mr. Green and Bean have offered some useful insight.

The notes from pluckinig an open string are chock full of harmonics which need to be filtered.