Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
TSL1401 Linescan Imaging Sensor Daughterboard BS2pe Motherboard — Parallax Forums

TSL1401 Linescan Imaging Sensor Daughterboard BS2pe Motherboard

mclparkermclparker Posts: 15
edited 2010-09-09 10:48 in BASIC Stamp
I'm a newbie...please be gentle. Sent this question to Parallax and Dave Andreae there said mabe a gentleman by the name Phil Pilgrim might be willing to answer. Frankly, I don't understand this process...but who am I to question. Mabe I just don't understand what Parallax is. Anyway, I throw this out for Mr. Piligrim in hopes he may be generous with his time.

Here is the question I sent to Parallax:

I am putting together an absorption spectrometer design project for my students. The device design will span the range of 400nm to 1100nm.

I plan on using the TSL1401 Linescan Imaging Sensor Daughterboard and the BS2pe Motherboard.

I have some simple (I hope) questions:

1. Do you have mechanical drawings for the Imaging Sensor Daughterboard giving details such as lens and focus assembly dimensions and physical relationship of the lens to the photodiode array?
2. I read somewhere, perhaps the TAOS site, that the lens is coated. If true, can an uncoated lens be obtained?
3. I choose this package because it seems to be painless in terms of programming. However, I would like to make sure my assumptions are correct:
a. Can the software be configured to read out pixel-by-pixel voltages as a function of time?
b. If so, can the software send the individual pixel voltages and the time associated with those voltages to a computer file in pure ASCII format?
c. If so, what Is the maximum file update rate?
4. Is there any obvious reason why my two choices won’t work for the intended application?
5. If they won’t work, do you folks offer a better choice? My principal fear is writing software, so anything to avoid that goes right to the top of my list.

Any help will be sincerley appreciated.

Mike

Comments