Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PMB-688 GPS and Arduino — Parallax Forums

PMB-688 GPS and Arduino

VamPVamP Posts: 17
edited 2010-06-20 12:50 in Accessories
I have both products (PMB-688 and Arduino).

I looked at the ... Small datasheet for the 688 and it didn't help; much.

If you look at the board you can see that the pins are labeled.
(left to right)
RX, TX, V, RXD, TXD, G.

From what I understand from the datasheet the "normal" RX and TX pins are not connected?
What are these for then? (just curious)
V I assume is the 3~5VDC.
G is obviously Ground.
RXD and TXD, are the Serial lines I am suppose to use?

Also I am pretty new to micro-controllers.
I have been playing around with them, but this is a little over my head.

How would you store this data?
Parse through it and save the fields in the given type? (int, float, char, etc)
or should I use a library for strings? Array?

All help is appreciated.
Information wants to be free! smurf.gif

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2010-06-09 14:29
    This is a support forum for Parallax products and neither of the products you mentioned are made by or carried by Parallax. That said, we'd be happy to help you with something as straightforward as trying to interpret information from a product's datasheet. Please furnish a link to a datasheet or manual for the PMB-688.

GPS receivers produce standard format strings of data. Yes, you'd have to parse through them and save what information you want in the format you need them in. There are a lot of libraries of code for the Arduino. Check out the Arduino support website. You may find a library already written for handling GPS data.
  • hover1hover1 Posts: 1,929
    edited 2010-06-09 14:47
    Here is some documentation that does not show up on the product page:
    http://www.parallax.com/Store/Sensors/CompassGPS/tabid/173/CategoryID/48/List/0/SortField/0/Level/a/ProductID/645/Default.aspx
    Jim
    VamP said...