Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
accelerometer and gyroscope — Parallax Forums

accelerometer and gyroscope

trannhtrannh Posts: 24
edited 2010-04-18 01:59 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi,

I am a biomedical engineering student and I am doing a project on using an accelerometer and a gyroscope to measure acceleration of the foot (x/y axis) and rotational velocity of the foot. I was wondering if anybody could give me an idea on how I can make these sensors output the necessary data. I'm having a hard time finding a way to incorporate an accelerometer and gyroscope onto a shoe. How can I allow the sensors to output digitally onto a computer? I am using the accelerometer and gyroscope modules right from Parallax. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I just need something to help me get going. Thank you.

Comments

• bill190bill190 Posts: 769
    edited 2010-04-05 22:27
    Perhaps a couple of Velcro straps around the shoe and another around the back of the shoe ankle to hold on just the sensors. (Side of shoe?)

Then run wires from the sensors up to a belt which would hold a microcontroller and a transmitter to transmit the information to another microcontroller and then to the PC?

Communications...
    http://www.parallax.com/Store/Accessories/CommunicationRF/tabid/161/CategoryID/36/List/0/Level/a/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName,ProductName
  • achilles03achilles03 Posts: 247
    edited 2010-04-06 15:15
    You probably want a relatively fast sample rate (say 50Hz or more) if you really want to get some good data (impacts, etc). The best way to do this would probably be to hook the sensors up to an ADC, read them with the stamp, and write them to an EEPROM (or flash card if you want to go for hours of data). With a 64k eeprom, you can get at least 5 minutes of data at 50Hz.

Then, when you're done sampling, debug the eeprom data to the stamp software, which you can copy directly into EXCEL, Matlab, etc...

Hope that helps,
    Dave