Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Download PropBASIC here... 00.01.14 LAST VERSION FOR BST - Page 14 — Parallax Forums

Download PropBASIC here... 00.01.14 LAST VERSION FOR BST

1111214161729

Comments

  • nutsonnutson Posts: 242
    edited 2010-04-21 13:38
    About LMM: support for LMM code was announced some posts back, but I cannot find any refence to using or activating this feature. Probably a matter of setting some switch in the header of the program. Did I miss or oversee something?

    Bean & co: kudos for this fantastic tool, it going to help me a lot.

    Nico
  • Gerry KeelyGerry Keely Posts: 75
    edited 2010-04-21 16:22
    Hi

    Add LMM after program name or task name i.e

    PROGRAM· MyProg· LMM

    TASK MyTASK LMM

    Gerry
  • Shawn LoweShawn Lowe Posts: 635
    edited 2010-04-22 22:31
    Bean- can you change the title of this post to reflect .93 release?

    Thanks

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Shawn Lowe


    When all else fails.....procrastinate!
  • RsadeikaRsadeika Posts: 3,824
    edited 2010-04-23 13:11
    What is the status on the docs? I glanced at what you have, and the dates are Jan, 2010. I know you have made changes to the compiler, and added some features like LMM. Is there an up to date document that reflects all of this?

    Ray
  • JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,929
    edited 2010-04-24 06:29
    Bean and I have been busy with our paying jobs. PropBASIC costs you nothing, so a little patience is in order. There are plenty of examples that demonstrate the features of the compiler that you could learn from -- those of us that write the docs don't have docs to go by, we learn by experimenting.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon McPhalen
    Hollywood, CA
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-24 12:55
    The newest version of PropBasic (00.00.94 as soon as BradC posts it) will support the PASD debugger.
    However, this moring I was deleting some spam posts and I accidentally deleted the PASD thread (I'm very sorry for that..I will be more careful in the future).

    So I will post PASD in the top post in this thread.

    To use PASD all you need to do is "PROGRAM Start PASD" and insert the commands "BREAK" and "WATCH" into your code.

    Bean

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-04-24 14:55
    It's being uploaded now, but for some unknown reason my link is like molasses in winter tonight, so it's there when it gets there.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,929
    edited 2010-04-24 15:58
    Bean said...
    The newest version of PropBasic (00.00.94 as soon as BradC posts it) will support the PASD debugger.
    However, this moring I was deleting some spam posts and I accidentally deleted the PASD thread (I'm very sorry for that..I will be more careful in the future).

    So I will post PASD in the top post in this thread.

    To use PASD all you need to do is "PROGRAM Start PASD" and insert the commands "BREAK" and "WATCH" into your code.

    Bean


    I took a simple demo program and tried it -- works with quirks (maybe it's just me).

    The process:

    In BST
    1) Add PASD to end of PROGRAM directive
    2) Add BREAK where desired
    3) Compile\Compile BASIC to Spin (this puts Spin file into a tab -- leave open)
    4) F11 to download to Propeller

    In PASD
    5) Start PASD_062.exe
    6) COM\COM Port -- set your port; would be nice if PASD remembered this between sessions
    7) [noparse][[/noparse]F2] to load program from BST tab

    Use keys from DEBUG menu to move through code. What I found funky is that I need to press [noparse][[/noparse]F5] (run) twice to get past a break point -- seems odd. Still, this is a nice addition to the Propeller tool set; thanks to Bean and Andy for their efforts.

    BTW... if you want to get back and make a code adjustment you have to turn off the COM port in PASD before BST can download a new program -- use COM\COM Open/Close to do this.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon McPhalen
    Hollywood, CA

    Post Edited (JonnyMac) : 4/24/2010 4:18:26 PM GMT
  • AribaAriba Posts: 2,682
    edited 2010-04-24 18:30
    I will make a new PASD thread in the next hour(s). The newest version of PASD can be found on my Propeller website:
    www.insonix.ch/propeller/prop_pasd.html


    JonnyMac

    You don't need to Open/Close the COM port manually, if the Auto-mode ist checked in the COM menu.
    In this case the COM port is closed if you minimize the PASD window, and re-opened when you restore the Window.

    Andy
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-26 12:56
    When version 00.00.95 is posted it will support PASD down to 10MHz.
    It also fixes a bug with hex or binary values in DATA when used in a TASK.

    Bean

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-26 14:56
    Please get the 00.00.95a rev when it gets posted.

    I accidentally sent brad the wrong files for rev 00.00.95

    Bean

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information
  • VonSzarvasVonSzarvas Posts: 3,282
    edited 2010-04-28 14:53
    Please I ask for a sanity check!

    Is it possible the STR command is not working in PropBasic build 00.00.95a?

    
    tmp  VAR  Long
    ascii VAR  Long(10)
    
    tmp = 654321
    STR ascii, tmp, 6
    ascii(6) = 13
    ascii(7) = 0
    
    SEROUT TXPIN, TXBAUD, "Test..."       ' This works
    PAUSE 15
    SEROUT TXPIN, TXBAUD, ascii         ' This doesn't work as expected - I get a single digit '6' and not '654321'
    
    
    




    Essentially I would like to transmit a decimal (long) value to the PST in ascii format. I can successfully transmit a string or byte.


    Edited to correct my explanation!

    Post Edited (Maxwin) : 4/28/2010 3:00:00 PM GMT
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-28 17:04
    Maxwin,
    SEROUT only transmits strings held in HUB ram.
    Make ascii a HUB variable and it should work.

    ascii HUB BYTE(10)

    I probably should make STR not work with VAR arrays, because they cannot be transmitted anyway.

    Bean

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information
  • VonSzarvasVonSzarvas Posts: 3,282
    edited 2010-04-28 18:33
    Thankyou Bean.
    Perfect!

    smile.gif
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-28 23:24
    Yeah, you don't want to use-up precious COG ram for strings (since you need 1 long per character!!!).
    It makes ALOT more sense to use HUB ram for strings.

    Bean

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information
  • Dr_AculaDr_Acula Posts: 5,484
    edited 2010-04-29 01:21
    I thought I would revist this thread to see what has changed in the last couple of months. In particular, I wanted to see if any new keywords have been added. The manual has been downloaded 800+ times, I'm not sure if this is the original manual or updated ones?

    In any case, I found something better. Down near the bottom of the first post on this thread is a link to an article in Nuts and Volts magazine by Jon Williams. This is extremely well written. I just bought a subscription to Circuit Cellar, and now I'm thinking of getting one for Nuts and Volts as well. Addit: I've just done that. If the magazine has Propeller articles then I'm interested!

    I guess the thing I'm wondering about is string instructions. I'm not sure if they have been added yet (str is there), and how hard it would be to have things like LEFT(), MID(), RIGHT, VAL(), HEX(), INSTR().

    If they are already there, great!

    If not, I've been thinking of how you write code to compile these sorts of instructions easily. It isn't just those functions, it is also the way strings are stored internally. If you use mbasic you say
    A$="Hello
    and that dynamically stores 5 bytes plus some lookup bytes in table. When it runs out of room it has to clean out the tables and the program hangs for a while. Hmm, that is a bit messy.

    If you say that every string is an array 80 bytes long, that wastes a lot of precious memory. I'm wondering about a solution sbasic uses where you type

    var mystring = string
    or
    dim mystring = string


    and that reserves 80 bytes

    but if you write

    var mystring = string:10

    then it only reserves 10 bytes. Useful for strings that will always be short.

    In the compiler, that statement reserves some ram and the compiler would associated that ram location with the variable name and then can use it when that string name is used.

    Strings would just be one dimensional arrays with zero termination.

    var mystring1, mystring2=string:40
    mystring1="Hello"
    mystring2=mystring1+" World"

    is an example. I think that would not be too hard to write the compilation code. What might be a little more tricky is

    mystring1=left(mystring1,3)

    where the output string is the same as the input string. It implies the possible need for a temporary buffer inside the LEFT function (and other string functions) that can store up to 80 bytes. I think there are internal temp variables within propbasic for numerical values (temp1 to temp5 I think) so maybe tempstring needs to be added to the list?

    For me, string handling is the one thing I really like about basic. Thoughts would be most appreciated.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    www.smarthome.viviti.com/propeller

    Post Edited (Dr_Acula) : 4/29/2010 1:46:56 AM GMT
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-29 11:43
    Remember that there is no difference between DATA and HUB vars.
    So you can do this:
    DEVICE P8X32A, XTAL1, PLL16X
    FREQ 80_000_000
     
    Baud CON "T115200"
     
    TX PIN 30 HIGH
     
    value VAR LONG
     
    Message  DATA "Elapsed time is "
    ValueStr DATA "12345 seconds.", 13, 0
     
    PROGRAM Start
     
    Start:
      value = 0
      DO
        STR valueStr, value, 5
        SEROUT TX, Baud, Message
        PAUSE 1000
        value = value + 1
      LOOP
    END
    
     
    

    I could have used:

    ··STR Message(16), value, 5

    also instead of creating a seperate data label "ValueStr".

    Bean


    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-29 12:40
    Dr_A,
    · String functions aren't hard to do with subroutines.
    · Here is an example of some.

    DEVICE P8X32A, XTAL1, PLL16X
    FREQ 80_000_000
     
    Baud CON "T115200"
     
    TX PIN 30 HIGH
     
    value VAR LONG
     
    myStr  HUB BYTE (81) = 0 ' String(80)
     
    Message  DATA "Elapsed time is "
             DATA "12345 seconds.", 13, 0
    
    STRASSIGN SUB 2 ' Dest, Source
    RIGHT     SUB 2 ' String, NumChars
    LEFT      SUB 2 ' String, NumChars
    MID       SUB 3 ' String, SstartChar, NumChars
     
    PROGRAM Start
     
    Start:
      value = 0
      STRASSIGN myStr, Message
    '  RIGHT myStr, 6
    '  LEFT myStr, 8
      MID myStr, 10, 5
      DO
        STR Message(16), value, 5
        SEROUT TX, Baud, Message
        SEROUT TX, Baud, myStr
        PAUSE 1000
        value = value + 1
      LOOP
    END
     
    ' --------------------------------------------
     
    SUB STRASSIGN
      DO
        RDBYTE __param2, __param3
        WRBYTE __param1, __param3
        INC __param1
        INC __param2
      LOOP UNTIL __param3 = 0
    ENDSUB
     
    SUB RIGHT
      __param1 = __param1 + __param2
      WRBYTE __param1, 0
    ENDSUB
     
    SUB LEFT
      __param3 = __param1
      DO
        RDBYTE __param3, __param4
        IF __param4 = 0 THEN EXIT
        INC __param3
      LOOP
      __param3 = __param3 - __param2
      STRASSIGN __param1, __param3
    ENDSUB
     
    SUB MID
      __param2 = __param2 + __param1   ' __param2 = first character
      DEC __param2                     ' Index starts at 0 not 1
      DO
        RDBYTE __param2, __param4
        WRBYTE __param1, __param4
        INC __param1
        INC __param2
      LOOP __param3
      WRBYTE __param1, 0
    ENDSUB
    
    

    And they generate a surprisingly small amount of code.

    Bean
    ·

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information

    Post Edited (Bean) : 4/29/2010 12:48:13 PM GMT
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-30 02:07
    Here is a more complete library of string subroutines.

    Notice the use of the $IFUSED compiler directive to strip out unused subroutines. (Check out the compiled code).

    DEVICE P8X32A, XTAL1, PLL16X
    FREQ 80_000_000
     
    Baud   CON "T115200"
    TX     PIN 30 HIGH
    value  VAR LONG
    myStr  HUB BYTE (81) = 0 ' String(80)
     
    Message  DATA "Elapsed time is "
             DATA "12345 seconds.", 13, 0
     
    ' STRING SUBROUTINES
    ASSIGN    SUB 2 ' Dest, Source
    CONCAT    SUB 2 ' Dest, Source
    RIGHT     SUB 2 ' String, NumChars
    LEFT      SUB 2 ' String, NumChars
    MID       SUB 3 ' String, SstartChar, NumChars
     
    PROGRAM Start
     
    Start:
      value = 0
      ASSIGN myStr, Message
    '  RIGHT myStr, 6
    '  LEFT myStr, 8
      MID myStr, 10, 5
      CONCAT myStr, "More info."
      DO
        STR Message(16), value, 5
        SEROUT TX, Baud, Message
        SEROUT TX, Baud, myStr
        PAUSE 1000
        value = value + 1
      LOOP
    END
     
    ' --------------------------------------------
    ' STRING SUBROUTINES
    ' --------------------------------------------
    '{$IFUSED ASSIGN}
    SUB ASSIGN
      DO
        RDBYTE __param2, __param3
        WRBYTE __param1, __param3
        INC __param1
        INC __param2
      LOOP UNTIL __param3 = 0
    ENDSUB
    '{$ENDIF}
     
    '{$IFUSED CONCAT}
    SUB CONCAT
      DO
        RDBYTE __param1, __param3
        IF __param3 = 0 THEN EXIT
        INC __param1
      LOOP
      DO
        RDBYTE __param2, __param3
        WRBYTE __param1, __param3
        INC __param1
        INC __param2
      LOOP UNTIL __param3 = 0
    ENDSUB
    '{$ENDIF}
    
    '{$IFUSED RIGHT}
    SUB RIGHT
      __param1 = __param1 + __param2
      WRBYTE __param1, 0
    ENDSUB
    '{$ENDIF}
    
    '{$IFUSED LEFT}
    SUB LEFT
      __param3 = __param1
      DO
        RDBYTE __param3, __param4
        IF __param4 = 0 THEN EXIT
        INC __param3
      LOOP
      __param3 = __param3 - __param2
      STRASSIGN __param1, __param3
    ENDSUB
    '{$ENDIF}
    
    '{$IFUSED MID}
    SUB MID
      __param2 = __param2 + __param1   ' __param2 = first character
      DEC __param2                     ' Index starts at 0 not 1
      DO
        RDBYTE __param2, __param4
        WRBYTE __param1, __param4
        INC __param1
        INC __param2
      LOOP __param3
      WRBYTE __param1, 0
    ENDSUB
    '{$ENDIF}
    
    


    Bean


    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice. [noparse][[/noparse]RUSH - Freewill]
  • VonSzarvasVonSzarvas Posts: 3,282
    edited 2010-04-30 04:58
    This is a brilliant library Bean - thank you so much for sharing it.

    ---

    May I ask a question about STR ? ... just to verify what "should" be happening !


    If I define: ascii HUB Byte(10) = 1

    (So all bytes in the array are set to 1)


    Then I do: STR ascii, 6543, 4


    Should ascii(4) now be 0 or still left at a 1

    So the concise question is does the STR command overwrite the entire array with zeros when it executes, or only the bytes it needs (in this case indexes 0 to 3)


    At the moment I do (in every loop iteration):
    WRBYTE ascii(5),13
    WRBYTE ascii(6),0

    after the STR command to set those bytes appropriately. But if STR will not overwrite those unused bytes, I could remove that step and just set them once at the start!

    I hope that makes sense..

    Max.


    (Note: Of course I can test it with the current version of PropBASIC! But I want to learn about the intended operation of the STR command, and not something which just happens this way now, and might change in the future)

    Post Edited (Maxwin) : 4/30/2010 5:59:01 AM GMT
  • Dr_AculaDr_Acula Posts: 5,484
    edited 2010-04-30 05:42
    Thanks Bean, those string functions look great.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    www.smarthome.viviti.com/propeller
  • VonSzarvasVonSzarvas Posts: 3,282
    edited 2010-04-30 07:12
    Array aliases ?

    In SX/B you could add aliases to array indexes -can this be done in PropBasic ?

    such as:

    leds HUB BYTE (10)
    doorled HUB leds(0)
    windowled HUB leds(1)

    So instead of WRBYTE leds(1), you could use WRBYTE windowled

    I noticed recently Bean mentioned that arrays take up less space than individual vars, so this might be a convenient way to use arrays more often whilst maintaining some code clarity.... Well that's the plan!
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-30 10:34
    Maxwin,
    I was saying that VAR variables use up valuable COG ram (code space), but HUB arrays don't.
    I'll look into array aliases, but it won't make any difference with available space.

    Bean

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice. [noparse][[/noparse]RUSH - Freewill]
  • VonSzarvasVonSzarvas Posts: 3,282
    edited 2010-04-30 10:40
    .. to take that further, if we only consider COG variables. Would 2 Longs and/or 1 Long array of 2 indexs take up the same cog space ?

    example:

    tmp1 VAR Long
    tmp2 VAR Long

    same cog space as:

    tmpA VAR Long(2)


    If there is no saving to be had, maybe there is no use for array aliases (only bloat)...??...
  • Christof Eb.Christof Eb. Posts: 1,106
    edited 2010-04-30 20:05
    Hi Bean,

    rdword screen(i), temp

    creates:
    add i,#screen ' rdword screen(i),temp
    movs $+2,i
    sub i,#screen
    mov __temp1,0-0
    rdword temp,__temp1

    I thought, that the index should be multiplied by 2 to give word adresses?

    Christof
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2010-04-30 23:46
    Christof,
    Yes it should. I'll get that fixed.
    I'm also adding some string support.
    For example:

    stemp HUB BYTE(81)
    sTemp = "This is a"
    sTemp = sTemp + " test."
    SEROUT 30, T115200, sTemp

    I "may" even put in LEFT, RIGHT and MID if I get time.

    sTemp = LEFT sTemp, 5

    Bean

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Use BASIC on the Propeller with the speed of assembly language.
    PropBASIC thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=867134

    March 2010 Nuts and Volts article·http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/prop/col/nvp5.pdf
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There are two rules in life:
    · 1) Never divulge all information
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice. [noparse][[/noparse]RUSH - Freewill]
  • VonSzarvasVonSzarvas Posts: 3,282
    edited 2010-05-07 06:39
    The new string routines in the latest PropBasic build are fantastic!
    They deserve special thanks all by themselves!

    ** Thank you Bean. **


    (And thank you BradC for getting them compiled and online so fast!)
  • PaulPaul Posts: 263
    edited 2010-05-07 15:26
    Just started looking at the PropBasic-bst today. I downloaded PropBasic 00.00.95-58 and BST 0.19.3 and the demo programs. I tried to compile DS18B20.pbas but it complains: UNKNOWN COMMAND: "STR".
    I also attempted to compile the above program with the '{$IFUSED ASSIGN} but it had the same error. Is there a ProbBasic-alpha with the updated STR ?

    Paul
  • Jim FouchJim Fouch Posts: 395
    edited 2010-05-07 15:49
    The latest version of the compiler is 0.96. I think it's the first to use the STR fucntions.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jim Fouch

    FOUCH SOFTWARE
  • PaulPaul Posts: 263
    edited 2010-05-07 16:25
    Thanks Jim. A check of the "About" screen shows I downloaded 00.00.96-58. Sorry for the typo above.

    Post Edited (Paul) : 5/7/2010 4:32:05 PM GMT
Sign In or Register to comment.