Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
The total Newbies page — Parallax Forums

The total Newbies page

mosquito56mosquito56 Posts: 387
edited 2008-01-22 23:53 in Propeller 1
· I have decided to start a total newbies page. For people who have no idea what is the difference between + and ground. j/k.
·
· Since I have started this post, I can edit this page. Anyone is free to contribute and I will update this page. It will be changing rapidly I hope as I become more familiar with the prop. This page is only an intro. I will be imediately responding so I can reserve the first to pages. This is only for a beginners rambling.

· I purchased my kit around the middle of Dec 07. Here are some suggestions for very first timers.

···· 1. Download the propeller.exe and install it even if you haven't bought the chip yet. I ordered the education kit and the proto board. DON"T do this. Just get the education board, the accesories kit, the usb connector ·and any toys you think you would like. I have the·proto board in the·bag and probably won't use it for at least 6 months. NOTE: If you are an electrical engineer start with the proto board. This is just my ranting, I know nothing of the other chips or the hydra. If you want gaming definetley get the hydra.YMMV·

···· 2. Get GEAR.exe windows. Don't know·if there is a linux or apple version. ·http://sourceforge.net/projects/gear-emu

It's a simulator for the propeller.· Yes there is another simulator but I have no idea how to use it. Just load up a program in prop.exe and "RUN,Compile,viewinfo". At the bottom hit save eeprom as file to a convienient location. Now just load the eeprom file you save into gear, click logic probe to see the pins·and hit run. Looks at the pins. You will see them going hi and low. Lot's·of fun for beginners. Make sure to hit update when you change the settings for the timing screens. I have no idea how logic works and I can't find any info on the program.