Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Been a while...what do I download? — Parallax Forums

Been a while...what do I download?

Hello all. I got a hankering to dig out my C3 and do some VGA learning/coding in P1 assembly.

I much prefer to use Visual Studio Code as my main development platform. So I assume I will need a compiler/assembler and a tool to upload (I have the Prop Plug).

What all do I need to download to do this? Oh, and when I'm not using asm, I'd be more comfortable with C++ as I am a Java developer by trade.

I used to do this a long time ago but I cannot remember the toolsets I used to use.

Thanks!

Comments

• PropWare is still "around" ish. It will give you the closest to a Java experience, and plays well with the command line (which should help you use VS Code)

https://david.zemon.name/PropWare/#/about
  • If you need a commandline Spin compiler/assembler, probably the best option is homespun. (openspin has some weird quirks...) I've more or less took over maintaining it. I've attached the latest build.
    Fastspin is also good, unless you're tight on memory, in which case owie ouch huge binary.

• cbmeeks wrote: »
    Hello all. I got a hankering to dig out my C3 and do some VGA learning/coding in P1 assembly.

I much prefer to use Visual Studio Code as my main development platform. So I assume I will need a compiler/assembler and a tool to upload (I have the Prop Plug).

What all do I need to download to do this? Oh, and when I'm not using asm, I'd be more comfortable with C++ as I am a Java developer by trade.

I used to do this a long time ago but I cannot remember the toolsets I used to use.

Thanks!

Hello!
    You mentioned using that editor for your Prop doings, do you use any special extension for it?