My stupid questions thread

13»

Comments

• pilot0315 wrote: »
    A couple of you told me that ptra is the equivalent of par in p1. I have a simple thing that I want to do which is just to take a value and transfer it to another variable and print. Not working here is the simple code from spin2 code. I am not an engineer. Please tell me what I am missing. This is my jump start.

thanks

That's a binary (compiled) not source. The source would be more helpful :smile:
  • So I'm going through the new instructions and I just want to make sure I understand these right.. if I start a cog (fastspin)
    PUB start_explicit( DO, CLK, DI, CS ) : card_type

stop
      long[@cmd] := "i"                         'set flag to know if the started cog has read its parameters
      long[@cmd][1] := do | (clk << 8) |( di << 16) | (cs << 24)
      long[@cmd][2] := clkfreq
      cog := cognew(@_asm_start,@cmd) + 1
      if cog
        repeat until long[@cmd] <> "i"  ' wait until cog is done reading parameter
       card_type := long[@cmd][1]       ' arg1 returns card type or aborts with ptr to error from low level driver
      else                                  ' we don't have a cog?  
        return @nocogmsg                    ' probably not a problem so waste of bytes

…

DAT   org
    _asm_start      mov     ptr_to_mbox,    ptra        ' save mbox address for later??
    '                call    #do_pasm_init               ' and do all inits 
    do_pasm_init    '' decode pins from first par, 1s from 2nd for init or pin change / clkset
                    mov     ptra,           ptr_to_mbox ' return ptra back to mbox    
                    rdlong  tmp1,           ptra++      ' dummy read, already have ptr to mbox and this won't change                
                    rdlong  tmp1,           ptra++      ' get pins because these might                
                    mov     ptrb,0                      ' pins 0 -3