Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Ethernet and SD card on same SPI buss? — Parallax Forums

Ethernet and SD card on same SPI buss?

Nick McClickNick McClick Posts: 1,003
edited 2014-07-11 06:53 in Propeller 1
I want to connect the Prop to an SD card and ENC28J60. Instead of using 8 I/O's, I'm thinking it would be better to share the Clk, Do, and Di - This should only take 5 I/O;
4621740283_00174e104b.jpg

But I'm an SPI beginner and want to understand a few things before I prototype it - I bet someone out there can help;
1 - Should I put Pull-ups on Clk, Do, Di, Chip_Select_SD, and Chip_Select_ENC?
2 - When it comes to flow control, do need to stop PropTCP before starting fsrw & vice versa?

Or is it a better idea just to use 8 I/O?

Schematic is attached, if it helps.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Propeller Forums RSS Feed!

Gadget Gangster - Share your Electronic Projects

Comments

• Toby SeckshundToby Seckshund Posts: 2,027
    edited 2010-05-19 19:38
    I think it should work with the separate chip selects.
    I would put pullup on the /CSs for when the Prop goes "tri-state"

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Style and grace : Nil point
  • jazzedjazzed Posts: 11,803
    edited 2010-05-19 19:42
    I've used separate CS before and it worked. I Don't remember testing both drivers simultaneously.
    Surely one can use a spin lock for mutual exclusive hardware access in the drivers.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    May the road rise to meet you; may the sun shine on your back.
    May you create something useful, even if it's just a hack.
  • smbakersmbaker Posts: 162
    edited 2010-05-19 19:46
    Nick McClick said...