Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Zog - A ZPU processor core for the Prop + GNU C, C++ and FORTRAN.Now replaces S - Page 3 — Parallax Forums

Zog - A ZPU processor core for the Prop + GNU C, C++ and FORTRAN.Now replaces S

Comments

• heaterheater Posts: 3,370
    edited 2010-02-07 21:26
    In an idle moment I just started coding the ZPU emulator in PASM working from the ZyLin Java simulator code and my C version of same. So far I have 44 of the 47 ops in place and have only used 255 longs !

What's missing? Basically the support infrastructure:

Dispatch table in HUB.
    A fetch and dispatch loop.
    The essential push and pop functions for this stack based machine.
    BYTE, WORD and LONG ZPU memory access functions.
    Some arithmetic functions.

All of the above won't take 240 longs so it looks as if everything is going to fit in a single COG !!

Sorry Bill this is going so easily there may never be a Spin version of the ZPU. Hope we can test VMCog from this PASM version soon.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    For me, the past is not over yet.
  • Bill HenningBill Henning Posts: 6,445
    edited 2010-02-07 21:36
    Wow! Great progress!

Maybe there will even be room for moving the dispatch table into the cog...

Please see VMCOG.spin for the Spin access functions, by writing pasm equivalents, you will be interfaced [noparse]:)[/noparse]

I hope to have VMCOG running in a couple of days...
    heater said...
    In an idle moment I just started coding the ZPU emulator in PASM working from the ZyLin Java simulator code and my C version of same. So far I have 44 of the 47 ops in place and have only used 255 longs !

What's missing? Basically the support infrastructure:

Dispatch table in HUB.
    A fetch and dispatch loop.
    The essential push and pop functions for this stack based machine.
    BYTE, WORD and LONG ZPU memory access functions.
    Some arithmetic functions.