Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Multiple MLX90614 sharing same lines — Parallax Forums

Multiple MLX90614 sharing same lines

b. Deletreb. Deletre Posts: 6
edited 2009-04-04 06:27 in Accessories
Hi folks,

As I'm quite new in electronics, my question may be somewhat silly, please forgive me.
I am using multiple MLX60614 Temperature IR sensors (actually 4 or 6).
Each sensor has been given a unique ID ($05,$15,$25...).
In case 3 sensors or fewer are mounted sharing the same Signal and Reset lines, they correctly answer.
In case 4 or more sensors are connected, no one responds anymore.
Is there a known explanation and a way to simply mitigate this issue ?

Thanks a lot,

Eddy

Comments

• Craig EidCraig Eid Posts: 106
    edited 2009-03-28 16:44

Eddy,

Since you are using a shared bus, you need to be careful when you are addressing several sensors to get readable data. In addition to assigning a unique slave address to each sensor, you must setup a read sequence for each sensor that ensures that only a single sensor is transmitting data.·The Melexis datasheet has detailed information on the·required timing intervals to avoid data collision.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ························ Craig Eid

··········· Triad Research and Development
    Electical Engineering Design and Consulting Services

··················· www.TriadRD.com
  • b. Deletreb. Deletre Posts: 6
    edited 2009-03-28 19:08
    Craig,

Thank you for this interresting comment.But, I do not really understand how this could happen in my App:
    - All the MLX's are configured in continuous measurement Without output.
    - I tried to interrogate them with 2s delay (between each sensor) and this does not change anything.
    - If I try to call only 1 sensor on the bus, it works fine with up to 3 sensors and bugs with 4 or more independently of the in-between calls delay (up to 2 sec @ 9800 bauds). Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think no collision can happen in this last config.