Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
embedded 802.11 — Parallax Forums

embedded 802.11

LoridanLoridan Posts: 12
edited 2007-06-29 19:19 in Propeller 1
All,

I have ordered a dev kit for the propeller because it is such an amazing chip at an amazing cost, and I have a rather lofty goal for it and dont really know where to get started. I would like to code a simple server on my computer that will transmit xml back and forth to the propeller chip wirelessly.

So here is what I know so far. I have an understanding of microcontrollers because I used to program the venerable 16f84 when I was in high school and college. I also have experience programming servers at a high level using sockets because I am a software developer, what I am missing is the enormous chunk of knowledge in between [noparse]:)[/noparse].

I guess I just need someone to give me an approach here, where do I begin? For instance, has someone already written a tcp/ip stack that will work on this chip? Is there any information on interfacing this chip with a pcmcia NIC? So far the best resource that I have come up with is a book called 'Implementing 802.11 with Microcontrollers' which is based on pic chips.

What is the best approach to getting xml wirelessly transmitted to this chip, or is this simply too much to ask of this chip?

Thanks in Advance,
Dorian

Comments

• Harrison.Harrison. Posts: 484
    edited 2007-06-28 01:55
    The easiest route would be to get something like the WiPort or XPort which is a wireless/ethernet to serial converter that supports a special command set that allows you to perform tcp connections. Once the connection is engaged, you just write to the tcp socket via serial routines on your micro (in this case, a Propeller).