Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller and Elexol Ether I/O 24 Interface? — Parallax Forums

Propeller and Elexol Ether I/O 24 Interface?

Bill ChennaultBill Chennault Posts: 1,198
edited 2006-07-11 18:04 in Propeller 1
All--

I'm a newbie with very little electronics background. (Computer guy.) I would like to interface a Propeller (or one of the higher-end Stamps) to an Elexol Ether I/O 24 (http://www.elexol.com/Downloads/EtherIO24DS1.pdf).

Do you have any ideas how I might go about this?

Thanks!

--Bill

Comments

• SSteveSSteve Posts: 808
    edited 2006-07-06 21:38
    After a quick glance at the docs it looks like this is something you'd want to use with a computer, not a microcontroller. The device already has a microcontroller with 24 i/o lines. Trying to connect it to a Propeller or BS2 would be redundant. The Propeller and BS2p40 each has 32 i/o lines of its own.

Can you describe what your "big picture" goal is? That should help you get some more specific advice.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    OS-X: because making Unix user-friendly was easier than debugging Windows

links:
    My band's website
    Our album on the iTunes Music Store
  • Bill ChennaultBill Chennault Posts: 1,198
    edited 2006-07-11 00:55
    Steve--

What I REALLY want to do is add a lot of I/O ports to the Ether I/O 24 and be able to sense my machine's every joint. Like you implied, I want the real processing to be done by a PC . . . via WiFi. The problem is that the Ether I/O 24 does not come in a wireless version. I have suggested it to Elexol and they like the idea, but that is then and this is now.