Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Commodore 64 Emulator — Parallax Forums

Commodore 64 Emulator

GoogGoog Posts: 65
edited 2011-06-03 00:46 in Propeller 1
It just has to be done... I am working on a Commodore 64 emulator using the Propeller.· I had been writing it in .NET for the PC, but that venture wasn't working out - .NET just isn't fast enough.· The moment I saw the first Propeller article in Nuts and Volts, I knew this would be the perfect platform for an emulator.· So that is why I bought the demo board and I have already started emulating.

Is anyone interested in joining me on this? I will need some help in the sound emulation and possibly the video - perhaps at its lowest-level programming, since I have no experience with video and sound electronics and/or theory.

I've gotten a large chunk of the Commodore's processor (the 6510) emulated and have already started porting over the top-level engine that will end up putting it all together.

The C64 runs at 2MHz, first driving a chip called the VIC-II, which then splits the 2MHz signal in half, which drives the 6510 at 1MHz.· It seems like the Propeller would be perfect to "multi-process" this using 2 or more COGs.· Of course, there are other chips and functions, which will all need to be emulated.

Thoughts? Comments? Does anyone know and love the C64 as much as I do? Thanks for looking.

Goog

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Doing my part to keep the Commodore 64 alive!

http://www.commodorestuff.com
·

Comments

• JavalinJavalin Posts: 892
    edited 2006-06-14 11:02
    Coog,

I'd suggest that the large number of friendly & helpful people on this forum would be willing the to assist. Perhaps the best way is for you to continue; post any specific questions here and I'm sure somebody will be able to help!

The C64 was cool - I allways got frustrated with the slow & unreliable load-from-tape so as long as you don't emulate that im sure it will be cool!