Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Which Microcontroller to use??? — Parallax Forums

Which Microcontroller to use???

Shaitan00Shaitan00 Posts: 16
edited 2005-08-04 16:16 in Robotics
I am a newbie at Robotics (actually building kits) but have extensive knowledge in Programming (Assembly, BASIC, C, C++, Java) and have a bachelor in Electrical & Computer Engineering. My goal is to build a little robot that I can remotely control fro my PC that can play with my Cat (don't ask - just a goal I am using to start building robots) – for starters (I have a lot of ideas)
·
The only real choices I am currently looking into are the following:
- BOE-BOT - found all over and uses BS2
- ARobot (by Arrick) - this uses BS2 or BasicX-24
- Rogue ATR ERS - this uses either BS2 or OOPic
·
Other then what is best to attack a cat, my real problem/question stems from which MicroController to start with? Basic Stamp2, BasicX-24, or OOPic?
·
Factors:
- I would like to be able to use my current programming skills to program my robot (such as Assembly, Basic, C, C++, or JAVA) – can any of these be programmed directly in assembly? I believe the BS2 uses PBasic - what exactly is that? I know the OOPic can program in BASIC, C, or JAVA but it looked really limited...? Is it real Basic/C/Java (like Microsoft version I am used to?)
- OOPic is special because it can use Objects and be Event driven, are these features really advantageous for robot programming?
- Is the OOPic the only one that can multitask? (Virtual Circuits)
- How is support for the OOPic? I found a 2 good BASIC forums but so far nothing for OOPic besides the Yahoo group, will this increase or is it a dead product?
- What is the MAJOR differences between BS2 and BasicX-24?
·
My main factor depends on this - what is the way of the future? I don't want to spend time learning something that will be legacy software in a few months. Is everyone slowly migrating from Basic2 -> OOPic? Where does BasicX-24 fit?