Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is there a code example to understand how to use cogs? — Parallax Forums

Is there a code example to understand how to use cogs?

I am unable to find a useful example explaining how to use cogs. Is there a code example to understand how to use cogs? One example using one specific cog. and one example with multiple. My background is from 8051 C and assembly.

Comments

• evanhevanh Posts: 15,252
    edited 2023-11-11 03:49

You are always using at least one cog. Cog and core are interchangeable terms here.

Cog 0 is the initial boot up core. First program code will be running on cog 0.

Info: The eight cogs are physically real cores, not logical threads. Each cog has its own limited internal RAM that is both general register space (512 of them!) and also can execute code from its registers ('twas the only way in the Prop1). Self modifying code is acceptable practice.

With the Prop2, the ability to execute directly from main memory was added. This is a welcome addition and is the default for compiled C on the Prop2.

To start up a second cog there is two general forms:

• Either as a high-level-language function/method starting as a new task. This requires allotting a fresh stack area for said task.
    • Or as a low-level-pasm-block that usually lives within that cog. A parameter or mailbox block is often assigned to such, but is entirely optional.

There is two active C development environments established on the Propeller. Both support Prop1 and Prop2 compiling.

There is an effort to integrate these with VS Code too. They are concentrating on Spin and I haven't looked at that to know how well the C side works - https://forums.parallax.com/discussion/173429/visual-studio-code-supports-p2-development-on-windows-mac-linux-yes-rpi/p1

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,953
    edited 2023-11-11 03:42