Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
P2 smart pins I2C and SPI mode 3 configuration! - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

P2 smart pins I2C and SPI mode 3 configuration!

2»

Comments

• Do try with an otherwise blank program.

• @JonnyMac said:

I know it looks like a disaster

Your words... My mentor was an old-school character actor named Cliff Osmond. He was discovered by the legendary director, Billy Wilder, and did several movies with Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon (who sponsored him into the Academy). Cliff was a very smart man, which lead him to teaching (acting). One of his admonitions was, "Always go for simplicity, because simplicity is elegance, and elegance is best."

Again, I'm not a C programmer (though I understand the C syntax), so I might translate my SPI connections to the P2 flash like this (not tested).

_pinh(SF_CS);

m = P_SYNC_RX | (((SF_SCK-SF_MISO) & 0b111) << 24);
      x = 0b000000 | (8-1);
      _pinstart(SF_MISO, m, x, 0); 
      _pinf(SF_MISO);

m = P_SYNC_TX | P_OE | (((SF_SCK-SF_MOSI) & 0b111) << 24);
      x = 0b000000 | (8-1);
      _pinstart(SF_MOSI, m, x, 0); 
      _pinf(SF_MOSI);

m = P_PULSE | P_OE;
      x = _clockfreq() / spiFreq;
      if (x < 2) {
        x = 2;
      }
      else if (x > 0xFFFF) {
        x = 0xFFFF;
      }
      x |= (x >> 1) << 16;
      _pinstart(SF_SCK, m, x, 0);

I know that my code is verbose -- my goal is clarity. Note that I de-activate (reset) the SPI MOSI and MISO pins until they're used.

I sometimes tend to over-engineer things, unfortunately. I agree simpler the better :smile:

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,926
    edited 2023-05-06 00:53

You can use

_wrpin(pin, 0);