Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Sending/Receiving ASCII strings for an SCPI interface — Parallax Forums

Sending/Receiving ASCII strings for an SCPI interface

I am new to SPIN2 and this is my first object based language, so be warned of possible ignorance in what I'm about to say. I am using the P2 to interface with several test components. I have several analog inputs and digital inputs/outputs. I have figured out how to interface with all of those "dumb" components thus far and am able to use the PST to see the changing analog inputs and correctly time my digital outputs and see the digital inputs. I am now trying to interface with a multimeter which uses SCPI(Standard Commands for Programmable Instruments) language. It is a serial connection and expects ASCII strings in an 8 bit with 1 stop bit, no parity bit configuration. I am using a second instance of the jm_fullduplexserial object to setup this serial connection but cannot figure out how to transmit and receive these ASCII strings as usable data. I have tried sending strings, hex strings, and binary bytes and the multimeter just displays on its front panel that it is getting either a formatting and/or overflow error. I've looked for other SPI objects that might work better but all my googling is no producing any results. Has anyone dealt with an SPI connection using SCPI or ASCII data that could just point me in a direction to keep trying because I feel like I'm hitting a brick wall. Thank you very much in advance.

Comments

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,926
    edited 2023-04-05 15:24

I "talk" with lots of devices using ASCII strings. As in C, Spin strings are a group of characters followed by a null (0). You can predefine them in a DAT section.

dat

s_GetDcVolts  bayte   ":MEAS:VOLT:DC?", 0

You can send this with the .str() method.

serial.str(@s_GetDcVolts)

If you're going to use a string more than once, this is the best practice. If it's a one-off thing, you can also embed the string inline.